Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
HONORED: Kasey Keller named 2005 Honda U.S. Player of the Year
November 30th, 2005 5:01PM



National team goalkeeper Kasey Keller became was named the 2005 U.S. Honda Player of the Year Award, making him the third player to win the 15-year-old award more than once.

In a vote by American soccer media, Keller edged Landon Donovan, winner of the last three. Eric Wynalda (1996 and 1992) is the other multi-winner.

Keller played in 14 games for the USA in 2005, helping it qualify for the 2006 World Cup and win the 2005 Gold Cup, where he was the hero of a penalty kick shootout win over Panama in the final.

Keller, after a long career in England and Spain, joined Germany's Borussia Moenchengladbach at the beginning of 2005. He became a fan favorite and helped the Foals avoid relegation in the 2004-05 season. During the first part of the 2005-06 season, he's helped Gladbach into the top half of the Bundesliga standings.

Keller receives a new Honda Ridgeline truck.

Past Winners:
20051. Kasey Keller 2. Landon Donovan 3. DaMarcus Beasley
2004 1. Landon Donovan 2. DaMarcus Beasley 3. Carlos Bocanegra
2003 1. Landon Donovan 3. Brian McBride 3. Carlos Bocanegra
2002 1. Landon Donovan 2. Brad Friedel 3. Claudio Reyna
2001 1. Earnie Stewart 2. Claudio Reyna 3. Jeff Agoos
2000 1. Claudio Reyna 2. Tony Meola 3. Joe-Max Moore
1999 1. Kasey Keller 2. Claudio Reyna 3. Cobi Jones
1998 1. Cobi Jones 2. Kasey Keller 3. Eddie Pope
19971. Eddie Pope 2. Claudio Reyna 3. Kasey Keller
1996 1. Eric Wynalda 2. Kasey Keller 3. Roy Lassiter
1995 1. Alexi Lalas 2. John Harkes 3. Marcelo Balboa
1994 1. Marcelo Balboa 2. Alexi Lalas 3. Tony Meola
1993 1. Thomas Dooley 2. Alexi Lalas 3. Tab Ramos
1992 1. Eric Wynalda 2. Marcelo Balboa 3. Tab Ramos
1991 1. Hugo Perez 2. Tony Meola 3. Marcelo Balboa

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Site
FIFA: Blatter wins first round, 133-73    
Embattled Sepp Blatter had a 133-73 edge over his sole opponent, Prince Ali of Jordan, in ...
Caribbean combine returns next year    
More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
Saint Louis picked to repeat    
[ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
[TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
[ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
FABIEN BARTHEZ: French great bolts after assault    
>> Soccer America Site Archives