Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
U.S. Soccer: Armas, Milbrett take Player of the Year awards
February 27th, 2001 12AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Site



U.S. Soccer named U.S. midfielder Chris Armas its Chevrolet Male Athlete of the Year and named U.S. striker Tiffeny Milbrett its Chevrolet Female Athlete of the Year. The Federation handed out its annual awards in Columbus, Ohio, where the U.S. men will compete against Mexico in a World Cup qualifier tomorrow night at Columbus Crew Stadium in a match televised live on ESPN2 and Telemundo at 7:30 p.m. (ET). U.S. Soccer also announced its Young Male Athlete of the Year and Young Female Athlete of the Year awards, which went to U.S. national and Olympic team forward Landon Donovan and U.S. national team and under-21 veteran midfielder Aly Wagner. "We're proud to once again be involved with the Athlete of the Year awards and honor these four truly outstanding players," said Steve Wagg, Chevy Cavalier brand manager. "This year, Chris and Tiffeny will both receive a Chevrolet Cavalier and we will donate $1,000 to the U.S. Soccer Foundation in the name of Landon and Aly. Chevrolet has a long history of being there, supporting aspiring athletes and our support of U.S. Soccer is one more example of this." Armas, arguably the most consistent and reliable player for the U.S. men, started the most games (14) and played the most minutes (1,200) of any of the 45 players that appeared for the U.S. in 2000, despite missing two months with a torn medial cruciate ligament. The diminutive defensive midfielder was an integral part of the U.S. setting a team record with nine overall and five consecutive shutouts in 2000. Milbrett had another tremendous year for the U.S. women, finishing tied for second in scoring with 15 goals and nine assists for 39 points. But her value was best seen in the 2000 Olympics, where she played all 462 minutes in helping the U.S. women to a silver medal. The 5-foot-2 striker was the team's leading scorer in Australia with three goals, including an incredible 90th-minute header that forced the gold medal match to overtime. Another player who turned heads in Sydney was former under-17 superstar Landon Donovan, who scored an opening round goal that helped the U.S. Olympic team win its group and go on to a best-ever fourth place finish. The 18-year-old phenom also broke into the senior national team in 2000, becoming only the sixth U.S. men's player in since 1986 to score in his debut when he notched a goal and an assist in a 2-0 win over Mexico in a friendly on Oct. 25. Wagner, the midfield maestro for the U.S. U-21s, also saw time with the full U.S. national team. She had four goals and two assists in 10 matches for Coach April Heinrichs. In her key role with the U-21's, the 20-year-old Santa Clara star helped the team win the 2000 Nordic Cup despite playing the entire tournament with a hamstring injury. This year's voting process was highlighted by a first ever opportunity for fans to be involved, which they did in great numbers by logging on to and voting for one or all of the four annual awards. Thousands of online votes were tallied and were equivalent to 50 percent of the total votes. As in years past, 100 votes were compiled from members of the national media and U.S. Soccer representatives, including national team coaches and the USSF National Board of Directors. U.S. Soccer's All-Time Chevrolet Award Winners
Male Athlete of the YearFemale Athlete of the Year
1984 Rick Davis1984 [WNT program established in 1985]
1985 Perry Van der Beck1985 Sharon Remer
1986 Paul Caligiuri1986 April Heinrichs
1987 Brent Goulet1987 Carin Jennings
1988 Peter Vermes1988 Joy Biefeld
1989 Mike Windischmann1989 April Heinrichs
1990 Tab Ramos1990 Michelle Akers
1991 Hugo Perez1991 Michelle Akers
1992 Marcelo Balboa1992 Carin Gabarra
1993 Thomas Dooley1993 Kristine Lilly
1994 Marcelo Balboa1994 Mia Hamm
1995 Alexi Lalas1995 Mia Hamm
1996 Eric Wynalda1996 Mia Hamm
1997 Kasey Keller1997 Mia Hamm
1998 Cobi Jones1998 Mia Hamm
1999 Kasey Keller1999 Michelle Akers
2000 Chris Armas2000 Tiffeny Milbrett
Young Male Athlete of the YearYoung Female Athlete of the Year
1998 Josh Wolff1998 Cindy Parlow
1999 Ben Olsen1999 Lorrie Fair
2000 Landon Donovan2000 Aly Wagner

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



    Recent Soccer America Site
    FIFA: Blatter wins first round, 133-73    
    Embattled Sepp Blatter had a 133-73 edge over his sole opponent, Prince Ali of Jordan, in ...
    Caribbean combine returns next year    
    More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
    Saint Louis picked to repeat    
    [ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
    UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
    [TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
    Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
    [ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
    GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
    MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
    CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
    FABIEN BARTHEZ: French great bolts after assault    
    >> Soccer America Site Archives