Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America Classifieds
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Parlow, Torres win MAC Awards
December 18th, 1997 12AM



North Carolina's Cindy Parlow and Creighton's Johnny Torres were named the winners of the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Player of the Year award The winners will be honored at a dinner Jan. 9, 1998 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Former MAC award winner and current U.S. international Alexi Lalas will be the featured speaker. Proceeds from the awards dinner go to amateur athletic programs throughout the country. Here are the top five finishers in the MAC Player of the Year voting (3 points were awarded for a first-place vote, 2 for a second-place vote, and 1 for a third-place vote.)


Name (School) Points (First-Place votes)
Johnny Torres (Creighton) 390 (84)
Lazo Alavanja (Indiana) 186 (33)
Daniel Hernandez (SMU) 144 (23)
Leo Cullen (Maryland) 139 (22)
Clint Mathis (South Carolina) 130 (21)


Name (School) Points (First-Place votes)
Cindy Parlow (North Carolina) 341 (83)
Holly Manthei (Notre Dame) 174 (28)
Justi Baumgardt (Portland) 133 (19)
Sara Whalen (Connecticut) 115 (16)
Bryn Blalack (Texas A&M) 100 (18)

Men's MAC Award Winners

  • 1986 -- John Kerr (Duke)
  • 1987 -- John Harkes (Virginia)
  • 1988 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
  • 1989 -- Tony Meola (Virginia)
  • 1990 -- Ken Snow (Indiana)
  • 1991 -- Alexi Lalas (Rutgers)
  • 1992 -- Claudio Reyna (Virginia)
  • 1993 -- Claudio Reyna (Virginia)
  • 1994 -- Todd Yeagley (Indiana)
  • 1995 -- Matt McKeon (Saint Louis)
  • 1996 -- Mike Fisher (Virginia)
  • 1997 -- Johnny Torres (Creighton)

Women's MAC Award Winners

  • 1991 -- Kristine Lilly (North Carolina)
  • 1992 -- Mia Hamm (North Carolina)
  • 1993 -- Mia Hamm (North Carolina)
  • 1994 -- Tisha Venturini (North Carolina)
  • 1995 -- Shannon MacMillan (Portland)
  • 1996 -- Cindy Daws (Notre Dame)
  • 1997 -- Cindy Parlow (North Carolina)

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Site
Caribbean combine returns next year    
More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
Saint Louis picked to repeat    
[ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
[TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
[ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
FABIEN BARTHEZ: French great bolts after assault    
MLS PREVIEW: Monday Night 'Rocky Mountain Cup'    
>> Soccer America Site Archives