Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Possession or no possession
by Ridge Mahoney, August 7th, 2007 10AM

MOST READ
TAGS:  mls

MOST COMMENTED

Watching Matt Reis have a ball kicked from his grasp, which is specifically prohibited by the rules, into the net for the winning goal in D.C. United's 3-0 win over the Revs last weekend brought back memories of a conversation with U.S. keeper Kasey Keller regarding his days with English League club Millwall.

During the 1993-94 season, Millwall -- playing in the League Championship, a tier below the Premier League - met Arsenal at home in the third round of the FA Cup.

The teams were locked at 0-0 in stoppage time when Keller dropped a high ball under a fierce challenge. He appealed for a foul as Tony Adams tapped the ball into the net, but the goal stood amid furious Millwall protests.

Keller recalled his postgame discussion of the incident with his manager at the time, former Irish international Mick McCarthy, just as tough as a manager than he was as a player. McCarthy told him, "It probably was a foul. But still, I expected you to do better."

Reis placed his hand on the ball a split-second before Josh Gros kicked the ball out of his grasp and into the net. The rules state the ball may not be kicked or headed out of the goalkeeper's possession, which is defined as the keeper having one hand on the ball. (He need not be holding it.) By the letter of the law, referee Alex Prus should have disallowed the goal, but only by viewing a frame-by-frame replay could one discern Reis had touched the ball before Gros.

Reis had bobbled the ball in the first place, failing to catch a long shot from Clyde Simms, and while lying on the ground didn't cover it up immediately.

He also could have kicked it away, as it slowly rolled near this foot, but reached for it with his left hand instead once he realized Gros was barreling in.

Revs coach Steve Nicol, while certainly lamenting the refereeing error publicly, will likely remind Reis, as McCarthy told Keller, something along the lines of, "If you make the play, you won't need the referee to bail you out."



No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Confidential
Legal primer explains past and (possible) future of soccer litigation    
The lawsuit filed by U.S Soccer against U.S. Women's National Team Players Association in U.S. District ...
Chicago Fire's Paunovic is counting on new youngsters    
A major makeover of the Fire under head coach Veljko Paunovic and general manager Nelson Rodriguez ...
For once, USA starts off a year just as it's supposed to    
Defensive miscues. Sloppy touches. Blown assignments. Confusion. These negative facets of play have been part and ...
Jozy shows he's still the man up front    
U.S. soccer fans have a love-hate relationship with most of their big stars. For every fan ...
Lee Nguyen on how he parlayed longer offseason into national team success    
Revs attacker Lee Nguyen got his first U.S. start against Iceland last Sunday and turned in ...
Revs' Heaps relishes competition and preaches consistency    
Aside from the apparent departure of Jermaine Jones, not a lot has changed on the New ...
USA-Canada match underscores Olympic issues for Klinsmann    
A games against Canada Friday may be the last opportunity for USA coaches Jurgen Klinsmann and ...
Christian Pulisic, 'the American Jewel,' must be protected    
I can think of 10 reasons we should be excited about Christian Pulisic. Those are each ...
Paths of Miazga and Cropper cross with both at crucial points    
An FA Cup match this weekend between MK Dons and Chelsea is a tussle between a ...
Return of Movsisyan reconnects Real Salt Lake with its rise to success    
After five years in Europe, striker Yura Movsisyan has come back to Real Salt Lake on ...
>> Soccer America Confidential Archives