Rejecting Egypt's complaint, FIFA cleared up the matter of the awarding of Brazil's winning penalty in its 4-3 win over Egypt on Monday in Bloemfontein, saying that referee Howard Webb awarded the penalty after consulting with his assistant referee, not the fourth referee and that the refereeing team did not consult video to make the decision.
The confusion arose when Webb did not at first award a penalty kick after Ahmed Al Muhamadi had stopped a shot by Lucio on his goal line with his arm.
Egypt's assistant coach, Gharib Chawki, insisted the penalty was only awarded after Webb consulted with Matthew Breeze and Breeze had seen the incident on his monitor.
FIFA, which forbids the use of video to determine refereeing decisions, said it had conducted an investigation and found no use of video evidence: "The decision in question was achieved through teamwork between the match referee and his Assistant Referee Number 1, Mike Mullarkey, who confirmed the offense to the referee from his clear viewing angle."
Webb red carded Al Muhamadi for faking having been struck in the face by the ball and awarded a penalty kick Kaka converted in the 90th minute.