[FLASHBACK] The Maurice Edu goal nullified by referee Koman Coulibaly's phantom call wasn’t the first time the USA was robbed of a World Cup goal, although the last time it wasn't nearly as painful.
In the 49th minute of the USA's first round game against Colombia, Alexi Lalas broke through the Colombian backline and rifled a shot into the upper corner of the goal.
The goal was incorrectly called offside. But the U.S. won the game, 2-1, to earn three points that paved passage into the second round.
Lalas said after the 1994 Colombia game:
"Twenty years from now, I'll roll the tape for my kids and stop it before the call. I'll just say, 'Oh, I scored in that famous '94 game.' They'll never have to know."
Lalas is spending this World Cup as an ESPN analyst.