Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
MLS and Fox Soccer extend deal one year
February 18th, 2011 2:40PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  television

MOST COMMENTED

[TELEVISION WATCH] Major League Soccer and FOX Soccer have extended the network’s national broadcast rights agreement for one year. The previous four-year agreement expired at the end of last year and the two sides were reportedly far apart on the rights fees for a new long-term agreement.

The soccer-only channel will broadcast up to 31 regular-season games, plus three playoff matches including a conference final – all in high definition. The package includes 15 matches on Saturday nights and 14 on Friday nights.
 
“FOX Soccer has been a tremendous partner for MLS for many years and we are very happy that we have been able to extend the relationship,” said MLS President Mark Abbott. “Through both its news coverage and its extensive schedule of MLS games, Fox Soccer allows MLS fans across the country to follow their club as well as their rivals.”
 
FOX Soccer's schedule this season begins with the March 19 opener between the MLS Cup champion Colorado Rapids and the expansion Portland Timbers


2011 MLS Broadcast Schedule (FOX Soccer)
 
Home team listed first; all times Eastern; subject to change
 
March
Saturday, March 19 Colorado Rapids vs. Portland Timbers, 9 p.m.
Friday, March 25* Seattle Sounders FC vs. Houston Dynamo 10 p.m. (excl.)
 
April
Friday, April 1* Columbus Crew vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 8* FC Dallas vs. Colorado Rapids, 9 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 16 Toronto FC vs. D.C. United,  7 p.m.
Friday, April 22*  Colorado Rapids vs. Seattle Sounders FC, 9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 23 LA Galaxy vs. Portland Timbers, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 29*  Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United, 8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
May
Friday, May 6*  Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, May 14 Real Salt Lake vs. Houston Dynamo, 9 p.m.
 
June
Friday, June 3* LA Galaxy vs. D.C. United,  11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, June 10*  New York Red Bulls vs. New England Revolution,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 11  Seattle Sounders FC vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Friday, June 17*  Sporting Kansas City vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 25  San Jose Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy, 11 p.m. (excl.)
 
July
Saturday, July 2  D.C. United vs. Philadelphia Union, 7 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 9  LA Galaxy vs. Chicago Fire, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 16 Seattle Sounders FC vs. Colorado Rapids, 4 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, July 29* Philadelphia Union vs. Colorado Rapids, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 30 Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m.
 
August
Friday, August 5* Colorado Rapids vs. Columbus Crew,  9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, August 13  Sporting Kansas City vs. LA Galaxy, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 20  Portland Timbers vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Saturday, August 27  Chivas USA vs. Real Salt Lake, 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
September
Friday, September 9* LA Galaxy vs. Colorado Rapids, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 16*  Portland Timbers vs. New England Revolution, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 23*  Sporting Kansas City vs. Philadelphia Union,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
October
Saturday, October 1* Toronto FC vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 Seattle Sounders FC vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
* indicates date or time change from schedule as originally announced
(excl.) exclusively broadcast on FSC.



No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
ICYMI | MLS: Report: New DP procedures formulated    
Allocation money could become even more valuable under new policies adopted by MLS. One of the ...
Reader's Note: Watch for Special July 4th Edition    
Soccer America will publish Soccer America Daily on Saturday as it previews Sunday's Women's World Cup ...
Scouting Report: USA preps for Gold Cup against Guatemala    
Two years ago, the USA tuned up for the Gold Cup with a 6-0 win over ...
Video Pick: Freddy Adu -- Good News, Bad News     
The good news is that Freddy Adu scored an impressive free kick goal. The bad news ...
NASL enters Phase 2; Strikers welcome back ex-coach    
The New York Cosmos, as champions of the 10-game spring season, are ensured a spot in ...
Video Pick: Hope Solo -- 'Why I'm a goalkeeper'    
Hope Solo explains how she embraced the goalkeeper position after having enjoyed more the role of ...
Video Pick: Julie Johnston thanks her family    
Defender Julie Johnston, who has marshaled the American defense that has conceded only one goal at ...
What They're Saying: Professor Cheryl Cooky    
"Gender is probably a factor. We have in our culture a protectionist stance toward women." -- ...
Three Americans nominated for top WWC award    
Americans Julie Johnston, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe are on the short list for the adidas ...
Gold Cup: Klinsmann gives Dempsey's captaincy to Bradley    
Not unexpectedly, U.S. national team coach Jurgen Klinsmann has named Michael Bradley his captain for the ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives