Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America Classifieds
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
MLS and Fox Soccer extend deal one year
February 18th, 2011 2:40PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  television

MOST COMMENTED

[TELEVISION WATCH] Major League Soccer and FOX Soccer have extended the network’s national broadcast rights agreement for one year. The previous four-year agreement expired at the end of last year and the two sides were reportedly far apart on the rights fees for a new long-term agreement.

The soccer-only channel will broadcast up to 31 regular-season games, plus three playoff matches including a conference final – all in high definition. The package includes 15 matches on Saturday nights and 14 on Friday nights.
 
“FOX Soccer has been a tremendous partner for MLS for many years and we are very happy that we have been able to extend the relationship,” said MLS President Mark Abbott. “Through both its news coverage and its extensive schedule of MLS games, Fox Soccer allows MLS fans across the country to follow their club as well as their rivals.”
 
FOX Soccer's schedule this season begins with the March 19 opener between the MLS Cup champion Colorado Rapids and the expansion Portland Timbers


2011 MLS Broadcast Schedule (FOX Soccer)
 
Home team listed first; all times Eastern; subject to change
 
March
Saturday, March 19 Colorado Rapids vs. Portland Timbers, 9 p.m.
Friday, March 25* Seattle Sounders FC vs. Houston Dynamo 10 p.m. (excl.)
 
April
Friday, April 1* Columbus Crew vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 8* FC Dallas vs. Colorado Rapids, 9 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 16 Toronto FC vs. D.C. United,  7 p.m.
Friday, April 22*  Colorado Rapids vs. Seattle Sounders FC, 9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 23 LA Galaxy vs. Portland Timbers, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 29*  Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United, 8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
May
Friday, May 6*  Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, May 14 Real Salt Lake vs. Houston Dynamo, 9 p.m.
 
June
Friday, June 3* LA Galaxy vs. D.C. United,  11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, June 10*  New York Red Bulls vs. New England Revolution,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 11  Seattle Sounders FC vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Friday, June 17*  Sporting Kansas City vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 25  San Jose Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy, 11 p.m. (excl.)
 
July
Saturday, July 2  D.C. United vs. Philadelphia Union, 7 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 9  LA Galaxy vs. Chicago Fire, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 16 Seattle Sounders FC vs. Colorado Rapids, 4 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, July 29* Philadelphia Union vs. Colorado Rapids, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 30 Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m.
 
August
Friday, August 5* Colorado Rapids vs. Columbus Crew,  9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, August 13  Sporting Kansas City vs. LA Galaxy, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 20  Portland Timbers vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Saturday, August 27  Chivas USA vs. Real Salt Lake, 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
September
Friday, September 9* LA Galaxy vs. Colorado Rapids, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 16*  Portland Timbers vs. New England Revolution, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 23*  Sporting Kansas City vs. Philadelphia Union,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
October
Saturday, October 1* Toronto FC vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 Seattle Sounders FC vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
* indicates date or time change from schedule as originally announced
(excl.) exclusively broadcast on FSC.



No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Where to Watch European Soccer    
The new European club season has started up. Here are places Soccer America readers recommend where ...
Soccer America Men's Top 25 Scoreboard    
[ROUNDUP: Friday] No. 7 New Mexico had to settle for a 1-1 tie with Drexel before ...
Wooten scores second late winner in two weeks    
[AMERICANS ABROAD] German-American Andrew Wooten scored his second game-winning goal in two games to lead Sandhausen ...
Dempsey teams up again with XO    
[VIDEO PICK: Music] The FIFA 15 release party in New York featured its cover boy, Clint ...
New and the old square off in semifinals    
[USL PRO: Semifinals] Two first-year clubs -- Sacramento Republic FC and La Galaxy II -- and ...
Attention on battle for first place -- and fourth    
[NASL: Fall Week 11] First place will be on the line Saturday when the San Antonio ...
Nasco nightmare gives RSL Rocky Mountain Cup    
[MLS: Friday] Joe Nasco, the former Georgia police officer who made his MLS debut this summer ...
Riquelme still brilliant at 36     
[VIDEO PICK: Golazo] Argentine playmaker Juan Roman Riquelme has always been one of the most delightful ...
What They're Saying: Danny Murphy    
"Basically, half his finger was off and you could see his tendon. Glass shattered -- it ...
Abbott is 'incredibly impressed' with Sac scene    
[MLS SPOTLIGHT] How does Sacramento stack up? MLS president Mark Abbott said he's not about to ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives