Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
MLS and Fox Soccer extend deal one year
February 18th, 2011 2:40PM

TAGS:  television


[TELEVISION WATCH] Major League Soccer and FOX Soccer have extended the network’s national broadcast rights agreement for one year. The previous four-year agreement expired at the end of last year and the two sides were reportedly far apart on the rights fees for a new long-term agreement.

The soccer-only channel will broadcast up to 31 regular-season games, plus three playoff matches including a conference final – all in high definition. The package includes 15 matches on Saturday nights and 14 on Friday nights.
“FOX Soccer has been a tremendous partner for MLS for many years and we are very happy that we have been able to extend the relationship,” said MLS President Mark Abbott. “Through both its news coverage and its extensive schedule of MLS games, Fox Soccer allows MLS fans across the country to follow their club as well as their rivals.”
FOX Soccer's schedule this season begins with the March 19 opener between the MLS Cup champion Colorado Rapids and the expansion Portland Timbers

2011 MLS Broadcast Schedule (FOX Soccer)
Home team listed first; all times Eastern; subject to change
Saturday, March 19 Colorado Rapids vs. Portland Timbers, 9 p.m.
Friday, March 25* Seattle Sounders FC vs. Houston Dynamo 10 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 1* Columbus Crew vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 8* FC Dallas vs. Colorado Rapids, 9 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 16 Toronto FC vs. D.C. United,  7 p.m.
Friday, April 22*  Colorado Rapids vs. Seattle Sounders FC, 9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 23 LA Galaxy vs. Portland Timbers, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 29*  Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United, 8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, May 6*  Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, May 14 Real Salt Lake vs. Houston Dynamo, 9 p.m.
Friday, June 3* LA Galaxy vs. D.C. United,  11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, June 10*  New York Red Bulls vs. New England Revolution,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 11  Seattle Sounders FC vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Friday, June 17*  Sporting Kansas City vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 25  San Jose Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 2  D.C. United vs. Philadelphia Union, 7 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 9  LA Galaxy vs. Chicago Fire, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 16 Seattle Sounders FC vs. Colorado Rapids, 4 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, July 29* Philadelphia Union vs. Colorado Rapids, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 30 Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, August 5* Colorado Rapids vs. Columbus Crew,  9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, August 13  Sporting Kansas City vs. LA Galaxy, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 20  Portland Timbers vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Saturday, August 27  Chivas USA vs. Real Salt Lake, 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 9* LA Galaxy vs. Colorado Rapids, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 16*  Portland Timbers vs. New England Revolution, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 23*  Sporting Kansas City vs. Philadelphia Union,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, October 1* Toronto FC vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 Seattle Sounders FC vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  10:30 p.m. (excl.)
* indicates date or time change from schedule as originally announced
(excl.) exclusively broadcast on FSC.

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Daily
What They're Saying: Livorno president Aldo Spinelli    
"I'm relaxed. At this time, the coach is not at risk." -- Livorno president Aldo Spinelli ...
U.S. Abroad: Fabian Johnson is on fire    
American midfielder Fabian Johnson is suddenly one of the hottest scorers in Germany. He scored two ...
What They're Saying: Jurgen Klinsmann    
"Watching the MLS playoffs has been tremendously exciting. The games in the first round with the ...
Klinsmann: Nagbe is a 'great fit' for national team    
One of the standouts in the MLS playoffs has been Darlington Nagbe, who has helped the ...
What They're Saying: Didier Drogba    
"It's a different challenge [in MLS]. People think it's easy to play there. Believe me, it's ...
What They're Saying: Stocksbridge Park Steels chairman Allen Bethel    
"I can't believe what I've been seeing on Saturday nights. He's always on his own. Why ...
MLS: Sporting KC continues talks with five free agents    
Sporting Kansas City re-signed 12 of the 13 players it had options on -- all but ...
MLS: Orlando City declines option on Hall    
Stemming from the roster moves announced Wednesday, Orlando City SC may not look radically different in ...
MLS: Revs re-sign Kobayashi, send three to Portugal    
New England announced Wednesday it has renewed the options on 14 players, signed midfielder Daigo Kobayashi ...
Sacramento wants to show it's ready to roll    
While efforts by David Beckham's group to find land for a soccer stadium in Miami appear ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives