Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America Classifieds
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
MLS and Fox Soccer extend deal one year
February 18th, 2011 2:40PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  television

MOST COMMENTED

[TELEVISION WATCH] Major League Soccer and FOX Soccer have extended the network’s national broadcast rights agreement for one year. The previous four-year agreement expired at the end of last year and the two sides were reportedly far apart on the rights fees for a new long-term agreement.

The soccer-only channel will broadcast up to 31 regular-season games, plus three playoff matches including a conference final – all in high definition. The package includes 15 matches on Saturday nights and 14 on Friday nights.
 
“FOX Soccer has been a tremendous partner for MLS for many years and we are very happy that we have been able to extend the relationship,” said MLS President Mark Abbott. “Through both its news coverage and its extensive schedule of MLS games, Fox Soccer allows MLS fans across the country to follow their club as well as their rivals.”
 
FOX Soccer's schedule this season begins with the March 19 opener between the MLS Cup champion Colorado Rapids and the expansion Portland Timbers


2011 MLS Broadcast Schedule (FOX Soccer)
 
Home team listed first; all times Eastern; subject to change
 
March
Saturday, March 19 Colorado Rapids vs. Portland Timbers, 9 p.m.
Friday, March 25* Seattle Sounders FC vs. Houston Dynamo 10 p.m. (excl.)
 
April
Friday, April 1* Columbus Crew vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 8* FC Dallas vs. Colorado Rapids, 9 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 16 Toronto FC vs. D.C. United,  7 p.m.
Friday, April 22*  Colorado Rapids vs. Seattle Sounders FC, 9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, April 23 LA Galaxy vs. Portland Timbers, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, April 29*  Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United, 8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
May
Friday, May 6*  Portland Timbers vs. Philadelphia Union 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, May 14 Real Salt Lake vs. Houston Dynamo, 9 p.m.
 
June
Friday, June 3* LA Galaxy vs. D.C. United,  11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, June 10*  New York Red Bulls vs. New England Revolution,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 11  Seattle Sounders FC vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Friday, June 17*  Sporting Kansas City vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, June 25  San Jose Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy, 11 p.m. (excl.)
 
July
Saturday, July 2  D.C. United vs. Philadelphia Union, 7 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 9  LA Galaxy vs. Chicago Fire, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 16 Seattle Sounders FC vs. Colorado Rapids, 4 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, July 29* Philadelphia Union vs. Colorado Rapids, 7:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, July 30 Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m.
 
August
Friday, August 5* Colorado Rapids vs. Columbus Crew,  9:30 p.m. (excl.)
Saturday, August 13  Sporting Kansas City vs. LA Galaxy, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 20  Portland Timbers vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC,  10 p.m.
Saturday, August 27  Chivas USA vs. Real Salt Lake, 10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
September
Friday, September 9* LA Galaxy vs. Colorado Rapids, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 16*  Portland Timbers vs. New England Revolution, 11 p.m. (excl.)
Friday, September 23*  Sporting Kansas City vs. Philadelphia Union,  8:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
October
Saturday, October 1* Toronto FC vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 Seattle Sounders FC vs. San Jose Earthquakes,  10:30 p.m. (excl.)
 
* indicates date or time change from schedule as originally announced
(excl.) exclusively broadcast on FSC.



No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Familiar Western foes face off once again    
[MLS PLAYOFF PREVIEW] Only once in the past five seasons has there been an MLS Cup ...
Wright-Phillips strikes twice to knock out defending champ    
[MLS PLAYOFFS] Both of the league's two scorers came through in their head-to-head playoff meeting Thursday ...
Savarese: Raul is still hungry to achieve things    
[NASL] The New York Cosmos have signed Spanish superstar Raul. He signed a multi-year contract as ...
Complete MLS playoff schedule    
[DATEBOOK] The New York Red Bulls move into the semifinals of the Eastern Conference playoffs with ...
MLS and EPL matches draw top NBC audiences    
[SOCCER ON THE AIR] NBC set Premier League and MLS audience records for its coverage of ...
Concacaf Under-20 Championship draw    
[JAMAICA 2015] The U.S. men will kick off the 2015 Concacaf Under-20 Championship in Jamaica against ...
What They're Saying: Harry Redknapp    
"I've never read it. I don't know where you get it from. Every day someone has ...
A super solo effort from the West Bank    
[VIDEO PICK: Golazo] We found one of the week's most spectacular goals in Palestine, where Merkaz ...
Messi, Neymar & Mascherano shine at soccer hoops     
[VIDEO PICK: Skills] Barcelona incorporated a basketball hoop into its training session and the trio of ...
LAFC investors jump on rocket ship    
[MLS SPOTLIGHT] MLS introduced the owners of the new club that is scheduled to begin play ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives