Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
Keeper sets new standard for fluke goal
March 9th, 2011 8:15PM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

MOST READ
TAGS:  belgium, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK] Belgian goalkeeper Sammy Bossut found a unique way to gift the opponent a goal -- by botching his toss and feeding a foe for a simple finish.

Bossut’s blunder came in the ninth minute of Zulte Waregem’s Belgian league game against Lokeren, whose Benjamin De Ceulaer exploited the opportunity for his team’s second goal in a 2-1 win

In true goalkeeper fashion, Bossut gesticulated and complained as if there were someone else at fault.



7 comments
  1. Brent Crossland
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 7:54 a.m.
    Personally I think this keeper has a legitimate argument. The White player who runs directly in front of him as he is winding up to throw the ball interferes with his throwing motion. That is not accidental. White deliberately interferes with the keeper's ability to release the ball into play. IFK to Blue. Possible Caution to White.
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 8:33 a.m.
    I agree with Brent. The referee was running to the side, glancing at the GK, when it would have been better if he was running backwards, directly facing the ball. He probably saw the play out of the corner of his eye. The AR had a more difficult position in seeing the play. The GK was ahead of a few defenders pushing up and the AR should have been running upfield in line with the second-to-last defender and concentrating on that while glancing toward the ball. Perhaps a couple of players obstructed the AR's view of the GK as well.
  1. Amos Annan
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 9:34 a.m.
    not a "blunder"
  1. James e Chandler
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 9:39 a.m.
    jk, perhaps a thorough reading of the laws of the game would help to clarify this. Brent is correct that the keeper's side should have been awarded a IFK. A player may not interfere with the goalkeeper's release of the ball, period. The referee should have disallwed this goal. It's more likely the referee was distracted as he retreated upfield, and didn't see all that happened. If so, he should have checked with his assistant before awarding the goal. Common sense would should have told him that something happened for the keeper to roll the ball backwards in traffic. Just because we've seen worse doesn't mean it's correct. The laws also state a player "Shall" be 10 yds. from the ball on an opponent's free kicks, the only exception being when the kick is taken within 10 yds of the goal. Contrary to popular belief, the attacking team need not ask for that distance. The referee should be directing players to retreat even if he's going to allow a quick free kick instead of enforcing the rule for a ceremonial free kick. If a player is already within the 10 yd distance at the time the ball is placed for a free kick, and the attacking team chooses to play a quick free kick, then that player has a right to make a play on the ball, but if a player approaches the spot of the free kick within the 10 yds, they are guilty of encroachment, and can at the referee's discretion be cautioned. Please don't listen to many of the commentators on these matches. Many of them ascribe to what officials consider "myths" about the game. Prime example, fouls for handling the ball. The laws say it must be "deliberate" and the player must gain an advantage. Now if we could just get everyone to stop screaming "HANDBALL" every time the ball touches someone's arm. The word isn't even in the laws. Watch the video again. You will see the player in white look at the keeper, and deliberatly run into his path. That is misconduct. I'm not so sure a caution is warranted, but I've seen them given for much less. A stern "don't do that again", and awarding the IFK would have been best IMHO.
  1. James e Chandler
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 9:59 a.m.
    Oh, one other thing, whomever wrote the text with this article should understand the game before posting anything that misleads the reader. I'm really a bit surprised that this misinformation was allowed to be posted on a site that prides itself in being an advocate for "the beautiful game."
  1. Larry Massengale
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 11:37 a.m.
    I agree with J.a.C., it is on you to get this right. It was more than a blunder by the gk, it was a blown call by the referee.
  1. Mark Landefeld
    commented on: March 10, 2011 at 8:57 p.m.
    Less blunder, DEFINITELY unsporting behavior on the part of the white player. Any good referee will tell you the same.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
NWSL: Reign's Fishlock sidelined with fractured tibia    
Jess Fishlock, an NWSL Best XI pick in each of her three seasons with the Seattle ...
MLS Week 9: Weekend schedule    
One of five Saturday afternoon matches features the Montreal Impact, first in the Eastern Conference, against ...
Soccer gets new Vegas pitchman: David Beckham    
A surprise pitchman at Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis' Thursday meeting with Las Vegas government officials ...
MLS Countdown: FC Dallas looks to rebound quickly    
FC Dallas, which plays at the New York Red Bulls in a battle of 2015 conference ...
Alex Morgan flexes her social media muscle    
If U.S. women's national team players want to show off their clout to make their case ...
What They're Saying: Seattle Sounders sports scientist Dave Tenney    
"One of the biggest red flags we have is guys that have kids. Almost across the ...
U.S. U-19 men fall to Slovakia on the way to final    
The Brad Friedel-coached U.S. U-19 men's national team, having already clinched a spot in the Slovakia ...
Video Pick: Dog invades field, kisses player    
The hound who ran onto the field during a Copa Libertadores game seemed especially happy to ...
What They're Saying: Tweet from Argentine club Tigre    
"Carrying the club inside you won't just be a metaphor." -- Tweet from Argentine club Tigre ...
Awards: Club America's Sambueza takes top CCL honor    
Captain Rubens Sambueza, who provided seven assists in nine starts in leading Club America to the ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives