Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
Goal or no goal? The Rapinoe Shot
by Randy Vogt, June 30th, 2011 11:37AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

TAGS:  referees, women's world cup


[REF WATCH] The USA's Megan Rapinoe hit the net in stoppage time of the Americans’ 2-0 win over North Korea on Tuesday but German referee Bibiana Steinhaus disallowed the goal. Did the ref get it right?

Goalkeeper Hong Myong Hui just barely got a hand on the ball as Rapinoe kicked it -- so the referee was correct in disallowing the goal, deeming the keeper to be in control of the ball.

When a goalkeeper has possession of the ball, the keeper cannot be challenged.

But Steinhaus could also have been correct in allowing the goal if she believed Rapinoe kicked the ball before the keeper had it between her hands. Replays confirm that the play was that close.

(Referee Randy Vogt, who has officiated more than 8,000 games, is the author of "Preventive Officiating.”)

  1. Eric Shinn
    commented on: July 1, 2011 at 7:58 a.m.
    Based on the way the rule reads, from my understanding, the ref got it right. Thankfully, this is the US women we're talking about, rather than the men, so the goal really didn't matter one way or another. They didn't play great in the first half, but from the 46th on they looked like the team they're supposed to be, and the game was very much in hand when this decision was made.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Daily
What They're Saying: Jose Mourinho    
"This gesture, at 1-0, OK. Not at 4-0. It is a humiliation." -- Jose Mourinho, caught ...
USWNT: Ohai does one (second) better than Williams    
The USA overcame an early deficit to hammer Switzerland, 5-1, before 23,400 fans at Minneapolis' U.S. ...
Crowd Count: MLS breaks attendance marks    
MLS broke its record for average attendance for the third year in a row, finishing with ...
MLS: Decision Day Results    
FC Dallas won the MLS Supporters' Shield when it tied the LA Galaxy, 0-0. New England ...
What They're Saying: Georgia teen Reuben Nsemoh    
"My friends would always talk to me in Spanish and would teach me. I wasn't perfect, ...
U.S. Abroad: Pulisic rescues Borussia Dortmund    
Christian Pulisic came off the bench to set up one goal and score the tying goal ...
Lauren Holiday recovering after successful surgery    
Former U.S. national team star Lauren Holiday is recovering after having successful surgery at Duke University ...
What They're Saying: Jake Edwards    
"It'll evolve slightly for some of those teams over the coming seasons, I believe. We'll find ...
MLS Decision Day: What's at stake    
The 2016 Supporters' Shield and the final two playoff berths are on the line on Sunday ...
MLS Countdown: Donovan, Gordon are Galaxy wild cards    
Last weekend Landon Donovan started his first game since coming out of retirement yet it was ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives