Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America Classifieds
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Player protests own PK; gets red-carded
Reuters, May 4th, 2012 3:28PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, referees

MOST COMMENTED

After Talat Abunima of Norwegian fifth division club Sandved went down in the Ild penalty area, referee Nedzad Munjic pointed to the spot. Abunima argued that he hadn't been fouled, received a yellow card, and then a red when he continued his protest. "I went past an Ild player and then tripped over my own feet. It was unbelievably clumsy of me and when the referee pointed to the spot I felt I had to speak out," Abunima said.

Munjic disagreed: "It was a clear penalty. The player got it all wrong – I don't think the players know the rules properly. And when I've blown the whistle, I can't change my mind."

Rune Pedersen
, the head of the Norwegian Referees' Association, said the official could have changed his mind over the penalty but that the cards were warranted. "A referee can change any decision he has taken until the play resumes," he said.

With Sandved leading 3-1, Oyvind Svenning deliberately sent the PK wide, Ild withdrew a player to make the sides even again, and was awarded two late penalties by Munjic, converting both to finish with 3-3 tie.

Read the original story...


1 comment
  1. Carlos Thys
    commented on: May 5, 2012 at 5:22 a.m.
    I'd like to see a video of this. Either the Sandved player, Talat Abunima, has no idea of what just occurred to him, i.e. he was truly fouled and Abunima thinks he was clumsy, or this referee is rather stupid / hard-headed. When a player immediately protests that he was not fouled and that the other team should not be penalized, why dispute the man who should know it best? Then... to yellow card him? Okay, I'll try to be charitable to this referee and say perhaps Abunima's protestations were over the top, unsportsmanlike or that he physically touched or used abusive language to the referee. Maybe? And a red card? With Abunima's teammate O. Svenning purposely flubbing the penalty kick, I think we then know that the referee got this all wrong. With the opposing side Ild freely deciding to also go down to just 10 players, well, Mister Referee, I think we then really know that you got that one all wrong. Perhaps there is some classy sportsmanship going on here, with Abunima, this his teammate, then the opposing side. It would be interesting to see the match report and a summation from both coaches with some player quotations. Were the final two penalties fully legit? Can we say that the bottom line is: Referees, don't be soooo stubborn. Yes, one has to be resolute and firm in the face of controversy. But not deaf. Listen to what the players are saying around you, use their body language communication, too. There is no shame or weakness on display if one reverses a bad initial decision.


Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Section 2 Around the Net
Report: Arsenal Leads EPL with 900 Injuries in 12 Seasons    
According to a report from PhysioRoom.com, which monitors sports team injuries, Premier League giant Arsenal has ...
Underdog BATE Bounces Back Against Bilbao     
Despite losing its opening game to FC Porto, 6-0, underdog BATE Borisov found itself right back ...
Bayern Bosses Slam CSKA's Empty Stadium     
Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola admitted there were few benefits to playing in an empty stadium ...
Diego Costa Ready to Play for Spain, Despite Mourinho     
Diego Costa on Wednesday declared himself fit to play for Spain despite club coach Jose Mourinho's ...
Totti: Man City's Tweet Inspired Me to Score    
AS Roma captain Francesco Totti claimed that Manchester City brought him luck by referencing him prior ...
PSG Tames Barca in UCL Thriller    
Paris Saint-Germain might finally have what it takes to win the UEFA Champions League, coach Laurent ...
The case for more female coaches in youth soccer    
Nicole Farley, who coaches at Southern California's Laguna United SC and Dana High School, says "I ...
Nasri to Miss a Month Following Surgery     
Manchester City midfielder Samir Nasri will miss a month after having groin surgery over the weekend. ...
Herrera Out as Man United Injury Crisis Worsens    
Manchester United midfielder Ander Herrera will be out for "weeks" with a fractured rib in yet ...
Giroud Signs Gunners Extension    
Goal.com reports that injured Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud has signed a two-year contract extension with the ...
>> Section 2 Around the Net Archives