Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Refs perform well in big final
May 21st, 2012 1:31AM

MOST READ
TAGS:  referees, uefa champions league

MOST COMMENTED

[REF WATCH] We asked "Preventive Officiating" author Randy Vogt for his take on the officiating of the Champions League final:

Referee Pedro Proenca and his officiating crew can be very happy with their performance during the final.

In the 53rd minute, a Bayern Munich goal was correctly disallowed for offside. A shot deflected off Chelsea defender Ashley Cole to Bayern’s Frank Ribery, who had been in an offside position when the ball was shot. Assistant referee Bertino Miranda correctly saw that Ribery had been less than a yard offside when the shot was taken. A good call by Miranda and a relatively easy one to make for a very experienced AR.

On a play such as this, the AR makes a mental note of the player(s) in an offside position at the taking of a shot, then raises the flag only if the offside player becomes involved in the play. It’s important to stress that if a defender redirects a pass or shot to an attacker in an offside position when the ball was passed or shot, it’s offside. But should a defender pass the ball to an attacker in an offside position, play continues as it is not offside.

AR Miranda’s performance was not perfect, however, as he and the additional assistant referee behind the goal line had the best view of Cole’s deliberate handling of the ball just outside the side of the penalty area in the 66th minute yet no foul was called.

In the third minute of overtime, Didier Drogba tripped Ribery in the penalty area and ref Proenca correctly whistled a penalty kick. The trip occurred a minute after Fernando Torres fell just inside the other penalty area. Watching live, I thought Torres went down rather easily and the one replay I saw was inconclusive if a foul had actually occurred.



3 comments
  1. Scholes Scholes
    commented on: May 21, 2012 at 11:59 a.m.
    In 86th minute linesman called Ribery out...he was not out the whole ball has to cross line. They always call this very poorly...Bayern should of had the corner but Chelsea got Goalkick...and went down the field and scored....
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: May 21, 2012 at 12:53 p.m.
    I thought the Referee Team did well, although we should expect more effort by attackers to stay on their feet in the penalty area! Professionals should not expect a referee to see every light touch that constitutes a trip in the penalty area, especially since many times they sacrifice a quality chance on goal, to rather go down expecting the ref to side with their expectation for a PK. Different from diving, but still not within the spirit of the game.....
  1. Carlos Thys
    commented on: May 23, 2012 at 11:42 a.m.
    One thing I noted very easily on Saturday: If one adds up where Ashley Cole really stood on cautions / yellows, well, he'd have been yellow-red carded out of the match in regular time. Look again at the 3d or 4th minute of the match. Sure, this is very early in the match. However, Cole's infringement is from behind, dangerous and cynical. Players exploit this ALL THE TIME, knowing that more match referees are very reluctant to serve a yellow card in the first 15 minutes of a match. Also: Let's look at Cech's feet positioning on the line for all these PKs. What does the rule state? It states that the keeper's feet cannot be off (in front of) the line until the ball is kicked. We now have four match officials with eight eyes who only have to watch the kicker and keeper in PKs in overtime. Yet do they get it right and decide for the retake when the keeper was clearly off his line early (And the kicker misses.) No, no. THIS IS HORRID OFFICIATING. This is a clear match referee failure -- every time. Every match official who presides over a huge tournament knock-out competition knows that PKs may occur. Thus, this part of one's preparation, as a referee, must be done meticulously with one's officiating crew in the days prior to that match. One may think this PK rule overly restrictive on the goalkeepers; however, the rule states -- feet no further than the line until the ball is played by the penalty taker.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Video Pick: How MLS All-Stars vs. Arsenal came about     
The best promotional video ever gets underway with Toronto FC's Sebastian Giovinco and Herculez Gomez, features ...
Making a List: MLS players on move to NASL    
Brazilian defender Adailton became the latest former MLS player to sign with an NASL team when ...
MLS player tracker with complete rosters (Feb. 10)    
The Philadelphia Union signed forward C.J. Sapong to a three-year contract. He led the Union with ...
Klinsmann breaks down U.S. goalkeeping situation    
As the USA heads into 2016 with the Copa Centenario and World Cup 2018 qualifying on ...
What They're Saying: High schooler Marte Formico    
"It's awesome having Brandi. Someone who has been that caliber of a player, that has been ...
What They're Saying: Fiorentina executive Sandro Mencucci    
"In Italy, people love football, but everybody thinks that football is only for men -- they ...
MLS Preseason: Training camp and friendly schedules    
The MLS champion Portland Timbers head home after playing Real Salt Lake Thursday morning in their ...
USA-Costa Rica Takeaways: USA doesn't mess around    
The USA isn't going to mess around with Olympic women's qualifying. It wasn't the 14-0 rout ...
U.S. Abroad: Bedoya does it again for Nantes    
In France, they call it "la magie de la Coupe" ("cup magic"). CF2 (fifth division) club ...
Video Pick: Back-heel Golazo of the Week    
VfL Bochum's Tim Hoogland has his back to SC Freiburg's goal when teammate Timo Perthel unleashes ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives