Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Upon further review ...
by Paul Kennedy, November 14th, 2012 10:16PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  mls

MOST COMMENTED

[MLS CUP PLAYOFFS: Houston-D.C. United] Upon watching replays of Houston Dynamo defender Andre Hainault's takedown of  D.C. United's Raphael Augusto late in the first half of the first leg of their Eastern Conference final series, PRO general manager Peter Walton said Ricardo Salazar should have red-carded Hainault. No call was made, and the Dynamo went on to rally from a 1-0 deficit and win, 3-1.

At halftime, Walton, who had not watched a replay on television, said a foul should have been called but Hainault should have only been yellow-carded.

"From the angle I saw in the stadium I thought it was a foul," he said. "Had there been a foul called, and of course it wasn't, I would've expected a yellow card. Looking at it in real time, I thought the tracking defender [Houston's Luiz Camargo] could have influenced the outcome of that particular play. That was my opinion from seeing it in real time."

Having watched the incident again, Walton said: "In review of that play, my opinion has changed in as much as the defender, which I thought in real time would have influenced the play, clearly was behind the action and therefore the disciplinary sanction should have been a red card for denial of a goal scoring opportunity."

Walton said the play "ticks all the boxes for a denial of as goal scoring opportunity and a send-off should have been the outcome."



6 comments
  1. Robert Buege
    commented on: November 15, 2012 at 8:47 a.m.
    It must be great to have multiple camera angles, stop action, and days to review and critique a decision made in a split second while running with only one angle of view and no second or fiftieth look!

  1. Steven McDonald
    commented on: November 15, 2012 at 9:44 a.m.
    I keep watching the replay and try to find what I must be missing but the only thing I'm missing is a DC biased opinion. I still see the defender had position, neither had control of the ball. DC player initiates contact knocking defender off his feet which in falling down , brings down Augusto. I still see a no call due to playing the advantage.

  1. Steven McDonald
    commented on: November 15, 2012 at 9:58 a.m.
    If Hainault had initiated the contact, everyone knows Augusto would have flopped so quick Olympic judges would be needed to score it.

  1. Barry Thomas
    commented on: November 15, 2012 at 10:38 a.m.
    As a neutral (and former referee)viewing the replays, I thought it was definitely a foul, doubted that Camargo could have caught up with Augusto, and was concerned with the way Hainault (deliberately, IMO) swung his leg into the legs of Augusto from behind. Red card? Maybe. Yellow card? Probably. Foul? Absolutely!

  1. John Yunker
    commented on: November 15, 2012 at 12:37 p.m.
    Hmmm... As also a former referee, I agree with Steven - taking into account only the replay angle from behind (the angle Salizar sees)- the DC player clearly initiates the contact from a shoulder charge (no foul) causing the Houston player to fall - their legs get tangled in the fall. Looking in slow motion from every angle, it appears that the Houston player made sure as he was falling to bring down the DC player. If the DC player had not shoulder charged the Houston player causing him to fall, the Houston player would have been in good position to defend. I'm thinking no foul - just hard play from the angle Salazar saw. (and being from Seattle am NO fan of Salazar)

  1. Joy Hottington
    commented on: November 17, 2012 at 10:52 a.m.
    Isn't that what Assistant Referees are for? Also Barry, a foul in that area of the field with no one else between Augusto and the goal would be a straight red. And Steven, glad to hear you know so much about Augusto given that he's played *never* in MLS before that game.


Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Video Pick: Chelsea loanee farther from Stamford Bridge with this miss    
Chelsea's Bertrand Traore is apparently having a successful loan spell at Dutch club Vitesse -- but ...
Road to Vancouver: Germany's Neid picks deep squad    
The loss of 2014 FIFA Women's Player of the Year Nadine Kessler, who is injured, and ...
Video Pick: Congrats to Wondo, but Dwyer's goal is tops     
Chris Wondolowski's penalty-kick strike makes the list of Week 12 MLS AT&T Goal of the Week ...
Open Cup: Chula Vista FC and PSA Elite hang with the pros    
In the tradition of Cal FC, Eric Wynalda's USASA team that reached the fourth round of ...
MLS Power Rankings: Sounders hold first place    
Seattle held the top spot in Soccer America's Power Power Rankings despite being held to a ...
Germany rests trio of stars for U.S. friendly    
Germany's national team coach Joachim Loew named a 20-player squad for the June 10 friendly against ...
Twenty for Canada 2015: France's Louisa Necib    
France's Women's World Cup hopes received a boost on Friday when star Louisa Necib played her ...
USL Weekend: Floods leave Austin stadium under water    
On Monday, heavy rains left Austin's House Park filled with seven feet of water in the ...
NASL Weekend: Cosmos break open spring race    
The New York Cosmos opened up a six-point lead in the NASL's spring standings with a ...
Video Pick: Own goals don't come sadder than this     
Pavel Krmas, a 35-year-old Czech defender playing in his 151st and final game for Freiburg, scored ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives