Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySoccer World DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America ClassifiedsGame Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Winning goal well past the line disallowed in Scotland
by Samuel Charles, March 10th, 2013 11:36PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] A 40-yard free kick in the 77th minute by Leigh Griffiths of Hibernian crashes off the crossbar and clearly lands at least a yard past the line, but it was ruled not to have gone in during a scoreless Edinburgh derby against visiting Hearts on Sunday.

The Scottish Premier League has given us some wonderful highlights this season, but today’s clip isn’t among them.

Clearly showing that not only should Hibernian have taken a late lead, there wasn’t enough traffic around the keeper, or on the line, to even make this call difficult.

Hibs coach Pat Fenlon wasn’t far wrong stating afterward. “It nearly touched the back of the net.”

Supposedly the referee, who’s right next to the kick taker, told Fenlon he hadn’t seen it clearly so he couldn’t give the goal, and it was the linesman who decided to call for the corner.

Now that’s what you call passing the pound ...



3 comments
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: March 11, 2013 at 3:34 p.m.
    I do not understand the referee's position at all for this ceremonial restart! He could easily be another fifteen to twenty yards further on his diagonal, able to watch all three, any wall movement forward, all the players at the defenders line and have proper angle for the goal line call. Perhaps a late game fatique issue on his part??
  1. feliks fuksman
    commented on: March 12, 2013 at 8:58 a.m.
    For some reason I couldn't see the video; nevertheless, have seen enough of similar situations described in the past; as a matter of fact I was involved in a few close situations myself; can you see the assistant's position and why didn't he assist? Maybe blocked vision,,,
  1. Montele Graves
    commented on: March 16, 2013 at 2:41 p.m.
    Seen this a million times as a GK, coach, ref and fan and don't understand why its not common knowledge. If the ball appears to bounce straight down and spin out, it is always a goal, however if it appears to have bounced out a yard or three then obviously its not a goal. Maybe 1 in 1,000 will it actually bounce straight down on the line when there is controversy. "Straight down" from 30 yards away, is really a half yard in, then spin out!

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Making a List: MLS players on move to NASL    
Brazilian defender Adailton became the latest former MLS player to sign with an NASL team when ...
MLS player tracker with complete rosters (Feb. 10)    
The Philadelphia Union signed forward C.J. Sapong to a three-year contract. He led the Union with ...
Klinsmann breaks down U.S. goalkeeping situation    
As the USA heads into 2016 with the Copa Centenario and World Cup 2018 qualifying on ...
What They're Saying: High schooler Marte Formico    
"It's awesome having Brandi. Someone who has been that caliber of a player, that has been ...
What They're Saying: Fiorentina executive Sandro Mencucci    
"In Italy, people love football, but everybody thinks that football is only for men -- they ...
MLS Preseason: Training camp and friendly schedules    
The MLS champion Portland Timbers head home after playing Real Salt Lake Thursday morning in their ...
USA-Costa Rica Takeaways: USA doesn't mess around    
The USA isn't going to mess around with Olympic women's qualifying. It wasn't the 14-0 rout ...
U.S. Abroad: Bedoya does it again for Nantes    
In France, they call it "la magie de la Coupe" ("cup magic"). CF2 (fifth division) club ...
Video Pick: Back-heel Golazo of the Week    
VfL Bochum's Tim Hoogland has his back to SC Freiburg's goal when teammate Timo Perthel unleashes ...
U.S. Soccer wins procedural round in women's suit    
Lawyers for U.S. Soccer and the United States Women's National Soccer Team Players Association met in ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives