Join Now | 
HomeAboutContact UsPrivacy & SecurityAdvertise
Soccer America DailySpecial EditionAround The NetSoccer Business InsiderCollege Soccer ReporterYouth Soccer ReporterSoccer on TVSoccer America Classifieds
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalkSoccer America ConfidentialYouth Soccer InsiderWorld Cup Watch
RSS FeedsArchivesManage SubscriptionsSubscribe
Order Current IssueSubscribeManage My SubscriptionRenew My SubscriptionGift Subscription
My AccountJoin Now
Tournament CalendarCamps & AcademiesSoccer GlossaryClassifieds
Winning goal well past the line disallowed in Scotland
by Samuel Charles, March 10th, 2013 11:36PM

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] A 40-yard free kick in the 77th minute by Leigh Griffiths of Hibernian crashes off the crossbar and clearly lands at least a yard past the line, but it was ruled not to have gone in during a scoreless Edinburgh derby against visiting Hearts on Sunday.

The Scottish Premier League has given us some wonderful highlights this season, but today’s clip isn’t among them.

Clearly showing that not only should Hibernian have taken a late lead, there wasn’t enough traffic around the keeper, or on the line, to even make this call difficult.

Hibs coach Pat Fenlon wasn’t far wrong stating afterward. “It nearly touched the back of the net.”

Supposedly the referee, who’s right next to the kick taker, told Fenlon he hadn’t seen it clearly so he couldn’t give the goal, and it was the linesman who decided to call for the corner.

Now that’s what you call passing the pound ...



3 comments
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: March 11, 2013 at 3:34 p.m.
    I do not understand the referee's position at all for this ceremonial restart! He could easily be another fifteen to twenty yards further on his diagonal, able to watch all three, any wall movement forward, all the players at the defenders line and have proper angle for the goal line call. Perhaps a late game fatique issue on his part??

  1. feliks fuksman
    commented on: March 12, 2013 at 8:58 a.m.
    For some reason I couldn't see the video; nevertheless, have seen enough of similar situations described in the past; as a matter of fact I was involved in a few close situations myself; can you see the assistant's position and why didn't he assist? Maybe blocked vision,,,

  1. Montele Graves
    commented on: March 16, 2013 at 2:41 p.m.
    Seen this a million times as a GK, coach, ref and fan and don't understand why its not common knowledge. If the ball appears to bounce straight down and spin out, it is always a goal, however if it appears to have bounced out a yard or three then obviously its not a goal. Maybe 1 in 1,000 will it actually bounce straight down on the line when there is controversy. "Straight down" from 30 yards away, is really a half yard in, then spin out!


Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
Where to Watch European Soccer    
The new European club season has started up. Here are places Soccer America readers recommend where ...
Robinho's chip is masterful    
[VIDEO PICK: Golazo] Robinho, back with the club that spawned him, scored his first Brazilian league ...
Pennsylvania has long history of Open Cup success    
[MAKING A LIST] If the Philadelphia Union beats the Seattle Sounders in Tuesday's Lamar Hunt U.S. ...
Philly's Curtin: 'I don't want to let the city down'    
[U.S. OPEN CUP: Final] As an organization, the Seattle Sounders have a brief yet rich tradition ...
All MLS teams but Sporting KC on double duty    
[CONCACAF CHAMPIONS LEAGUE: Preview] MLS's five entrants take a combined 5-0-1 record into Matchday 4 of ...
Arsenal and Man City look to repeat road feats    
[UCL: Three Games to Watch] The new UEFA Champions League season kicks off with a bang. ...
What They're Saying: Michael Bradley    
"They continue to assign Canadian referees with Canadian teams playing against American teams ... It makes ...
Intentional or not, Blas Perez's goal is amazing     
[VIDEO PICK: MLS Goals of the Week] It's unclear whether FC Dallas' Panamanian striker Blas Perez ...
Spain advances to finals for first time    
[2015 WOMEN'S WORLD CUP] Spain qualified for the 2015 Women's World Cup for the first time ...
Curtin has Union on brink of first trophy    
[OPEN CUP: Final] The Philadelphia Union goes for its first trophy when it hosts the Seattle ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives