Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
Winning goal well past the line disallowed in Scotland
by Samuel Charles, March 10th, 2013 11:36PM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] A 40-yard free kick in the 77th minute by Leigh Griffiths of Hibernian crashes off the crossbar and clearly lands at least a yard past the line, but it was ruled not to have gone in during a scoreless Edinburgh derby against visiting Hearts on Sunday.

The Scottish Premier League has given us some wonderful highlights this season, but today’s clip isn’t among them.

Clearly showing that not only should Hibernian have taken a late lead, there wasn’t enough traffic around the keeper, or on the line, to even make this call difficult.

Hibs coach Pat Fenlon wasn’t far wrong stating afterward. “It nearly touched the back of the net.”

Supposedly the referee, who’s right next to the kick taker, told Fenlon he hadn’t seen it clearly so he couldn’t give the goal, and it was the linesman who decided to call for the corner.

Now that’s what you call passing the pound ...



3 comments
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: March 11, 2013 at 3:34 p.m.
    I do not understand the referee's position at all for this ceremonial restart! He could easily be another fifteen to twenty yards further on his diagonal, able to watch all three, any wall movement forward, all the players at the defenders line and have proper angle for the goal line call. Perhaps a late game fatique issue on his part??
  1. feliks fuksman
    commented on: March 12, 2013 at 8:58 a.m.
    For some reason I couldn't see the video; nevertheless, have seen enough of similar situations described in the past; as a matter of fact I was involved in a few close situations myself; can you see the assistant's position and why didn't he assist? Maybe blocked vision,,,
  1. Montele Graves
    commented on: March 16, 2013 at 2:41 p.m.
    Seen this a million times as a GK, coach, ref and fan and don't understand why its not common knowledge. If the ball appears to bounce straight down and spin out, it is always a goal, however if it appears to have bounced out a yard or three then obviously its not a goal. Maybe 1 in 1,000 will it actually bounce straight down on the line when there is controversy. "Straight down" from 30 yards away, is really a half yard in, then spin out!

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
MLS Cup: Remaining tickets sell out in three minutes    
Major League Soccer announced that tickets Saturday's MLS Cup between Toronto FC and the Seattle Sounders ...
What They're Saying: Chapecoense mourner Claudiane Penegalli     
"It creates indignation because it was a human failure. It wasn't a problem with nature, with ...
What They're Saying: Simon Grayson    
"You expect it in the playground between 4- or 5-year-olds, not from two professionals who've been ...
MLS Moves: Quakes decline options on nine players    
Former U.S. national team defender Clarence Goodson, former U.S. U-20s Marc Pelosi and Tommy Thompson and ...
MLS Moves: Former Xolos sign with Atlanta and SKC    
Two Americans who began their pro careers at Mexico's Tijuana have signed contracts with MLS clubs. ...
Video Pick: Pulisic's pocket warmer    
Both had a laugh when Christian Pulisic entered Borussia Dortmund's 4-1 win over Borussia Moenchengladbach and ...
U.S. U-17 boys crush competition at Nike Friendlies    
The USA won the U-17 Nike International Friendlies competition in convincing fashion, clinching with a 3-0 ...
U.S. Abroad: Arena watches Pulisic and Johnson    
New U.S. national team coach Bruce Arena watched Christian Pulisic play at Borussia Dortmund as he ...
U.S. U-17s boys romp again, beat Turkey, 5-1     
After opening the Nike International Friendlies with a 7-1 win over Portugal, the U.S. U-17 boys ...
U-20 WWC: USA badly outplayed in third-place game loss    
Japan outshot the USA 29-3 while beating the Americans 1-0 in the third-place game at the ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives