Carlo Ancelotti said that Barcelona was gifted both of its goals at the Parc des Princes on Tuesday night, as Paris Saint-Germain drew the first-leg of its UEFA Champions League Quarterfinal series with the La Liga giant, 2-2. “[Lionel] Messi’s goal was a gift from us and the second goal was a gift from the referee,” the PSG coach complained in his post-match comments.
Despite Zlatan Ibrahimovic clearly scoring the French giant’s first goal from an offside position, Ancelotti drew attention to Barca’s second goal, which came from a penalty after PSG keeper Salvatore Sirigu appeared to take down Barca forward Alexis Sanchez. “It was no penalty,” Ancelotti said. “We have experience of Alexis, in August’s friendly he dived. This is not something new for us.”
Though PSG defended well throughout, the Ligue 1 leader was forced to come from behind twice to level the score. Ancelotti lamented that “with a little more courage” PSG could have won the game. “It is a bad result for us,” he said, adding that regardless of whether Messi, who was substituted at halftime with a hamstring injury, plays in next Wednesday’s return leg, PSG must score two or more goals at the Camp Nou to progress to the semifinal.