Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
Winning goal goes up in smoke
by Mike Woitalla, November 18th, 2013 1:13AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

MOST READ
TAGS:  referees, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] With the score tied 2-2 in stoppage time in English minor league play, Barnet hit the Cambridge net from close range. But the apparent winning goal was called back by a linesman who judged the ball had gone out of bounds after flying off the crossbar. Making the call all the more controversial is that the ball had disappeared in a cloud of smoke.

George Sykes, who had converted the rebound, and Barnet coach Edgar Davids blamed the assistant referee, but the video is inconclusive.

Shouldn't they be blaming their own fans for setting off flares?



2 comments
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: November 18, 2013 at 7:32 a.m.
    Does anybody have any idea why Brits still refer to the assistant referee as a linesman even though FIFA changed the name well over a decade ago?
  1. Kent James
    commented on: November 18, 2013 at 11:25 a.m.
    This is why referees (and assistant referees) should not guess. Unless I'm wrong (or there was a very strong wind from behind the goal, which the stability of the smoke would suggest is not the case), a ball would not go out (the whole ball outside the 4" crossbar) and then come back in when the initial flight of the ball was directly towards the goal (so no sideways swerve as you might see from a corner). So the ball would have to reverse directions by more than 4" without any outside influence during a flight (straight up) of about 15'. If you can't call it out, you shouldn't.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
MLS Moves: Ian Harkes doesn't stray from D.C. backyard    
Missing out on a MAC Hermann Award winner who just happens to be the son of ...
MLS Expansion: San Diego stadium part of $1B project    
Timing is everything, and Sunday's USA-Serbia friendly at Qualcomm Stadium will give proponents of an MLS ...
MLS Camp Chatter: Diskerud not in NYCFC mix    
U.S. international Mix Diskerud, who did not play for New York City FC after June 2 ...
USMNT: Three players depart January camp    
FC Dallas midfielder Kellyn Acosta and defender Matt Hedges both left the U.S. men's national team ...
What They're Saying: CAF spokesperson Junior Binyam    
"CAF has taken action but we can't certify 100 percent it will not happen again. Even ...
Video Pick: Goals Galore by Wayne Rooney    
Sky Sports put together a compilation of Wayne Rooney's best goals for Everton, Manchester United and ...
Roster: Namazi calls in 28 for U.S. U-18 boys camp    
Coach Omid Namazi has named a 28-player roster for the first U.S. U-18 boys national team ...
Christian Pulisic extends his Borussia Dortmund contract    
Christian Pulisic, whose original contract with Borussia Dortmund ran through the 2018-19 season, has signed a ...
What They're Saying: Adam Straith    
"I had never even worn keeper gloves. That was the first time. I think you could ...
MLS players get all four goals for Canada in 4-2 win    
The Toronto FC trio of Jay Chapman, Jonathan Osorio and Tosaint Ricketts and the Montreal Impact's ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives