Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
This can happen when you don't play whistle
by Mike Woitalla, March 17th, 2014 8:55PM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] The English seventh division delivers this bizarre goal because Kings Lynn Town's defenders didn't heed the adage to play the whistle.

FC United of Manchester -- a club formed by Man United fans upset at the Glazer family's leveraged takeover in 2005 -- was leading 1-0 when they were gifted this goal, finished by Michael Norton. The commentators seem just as confused as the Kings' defense.



5 comments
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 17, 2014 at 9:38 p.m.
    The FC United player was alert as was the AR who was by the goal line and saw that the goal did not cross the goal line. The ref did not blow his whistle but he did signal a goal kick. If the GK had held on to the ball, an indirect kick should have been awarded against his team as the GK handled a deliberate pass from the foot of a teammate. What wound up happening is advantage was played (by accident as the ref did not realize the ball was still in play at the time) as the ball eventually went to an open attacker inside the penalty area.
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 17, 2014 at 9:39 p.m.
    In the first sentence of the comment above, I should have put: The FC United player was alert as was the AR who was by the goal line and saw that the ball did not cross the goal line.
  1. Gus Keri
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 9:18 a.m.
    Randy, you said "The ref did not blow his whistle but he did signal a goal kick," but you didn't comment on it. Is it right to do so and confuse players? Should the referee hold some responsibility for doing so?
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 4:16 p.m.
    Gus, the ref should not have signaled for a goal kick in this case without looking at the AR. But the ref did have a lot to do in this sequence. Was the attacker fouled? If so, did the foul occur inside the penalty area or outside? If the ref did not think there's a foul, did the ball go out of play after that? The ref was too far from the goal line to see if the ball was still in play so he needed to look at the AR, which he did not do. It looks like the ref based his goal kick signal on the reaction of the players and did not look at the AR. But full credit to the AR, who was down at the goal line and had the right call--that the ball was still in play.
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 4:47 p.m.
    It is exactly for reasons such as this, a Ref can never allow himself to go into auto-pilot......the most innocuous scenario can turn into a firestorm! I personally never signal GK/Corner, until the ball has clearly gone over the goal line in my quadrant, and/or double-check alot of even those times with my AR, before I STOP and signal!! What's up with the ref and his half jog-turn while signaling incorrectly move?? And lastly, he should of stopped play as soon as the Keeper made contact with the ball for the illegal backpass (except that he already decided it was out of play evidently..?). The law states "teammate play the ball by foot to an area the keeper can legally play the ball....." (paraphrase) There is no requirement that the Keeper gain control, only that the contact is made with the ball. In this video, the teammate clearly plays the ball to the Keeper, regardless of the GK having to pare the ball at first, thus violating the law. Any "advantage" call potential would have ended when the attackers ceased to challenge for the ball, thus I would have returned to the original handling violation and prepared for the IFK.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
NWSL: Reign's Fishlock sidelined with fractured tibia    
Jess Fishlock, an NWSL Best XI pick in each of her three seasons with the Seattle ...
MLS Week 9: Weekend schedule    
One of five Saturday afternoon matches features the Montreal Impact, first in the Eastern Conference, against ...
Soccer gets new Vegas pitchman: David Beckham    
A surprise pitchman at Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis' Thursday meeting with Las Vegas government officials ...
MLS Countdown: FC Dallas looks to rebound quickly    
FC Dallas, which plays at the New York Red Bulls in a battle of 2015 conference ...
Alex Morgan flexes her social media muscle    
If U.S. women's national team players want to show off their clout to make their case ...
What They're Saying: Seattle Sounders sports scientist Dave Tenney    
"One of the biggest red flags we have is guys that have kids. Almost across the ...
U.S. U-19 men fall to Slovakia on the way to final    
The Brad Friedel-coached U.S. U-19 men's national team, having already clinched a spot in the Slovakia ...
Video Pick: Dog invades field, kisses player    
The hound who ran onto the field during a Copa Libertadores game seemed especially happy to ...
What They're Saying: Tweet from Argentine club Tigre    
"Carrying the club inside you won't just be a metaphor." -- Tweet from Argentine club Tigre ...
Awards: Club America's Sambueza takes top CCL honor    
Captain Rubens Sambueza, who provided seven assists in nine starts in leading Club America to the ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives