Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
This can happen when you don't play whistle
by Mike Woitalla, March 17th, 2014 8:55PM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

MOST READ
TAGS:  off the post, video

MOST COMMENTED

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] The English seventh division delivers this bizarre goal because Kings Lynn Town's defenders didn't heed the adage to play the whistle.

FC United of Manchester -- a club formed by Man United fans upset at the Glazer family's leveraged takeover in 2005 -- was leading 1-0 when they were gifted this goal, finished by Michael Norton. The commentators seem just as confused as the Kings' defense.



5 comments
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 17, 2014 at 9:38 p.m.
    The FC United player was alert as was the AR who was by the goal line and saw that the goal did not cross the goal line. The ref did not blow his whistle but he did signal a goal kick. If the GK had held on to the ball, an indirect kick should have been awarded against his team as the GK handled a deliberate pass from the foot of a teammate. What wound up happening is advantage was played (by accident as the ref did not realize the ball was still in play at the time) as the ball eventually went to an open attacker inside the penalty area.
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 17, 2014 at 9:39 p.m.
    In the first sentence of the comment above, I should have put: The FC United player was alert as was the AR who was by the goal line and saw that the ball did not cross the goal line.
  1. Gus Keri
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 9:18 a.m.
    Randy, you said "The ref did not blow his whistle but he did signal a goal kick," but you didn't comment on it. Is it right to do so and confuse players? Should the referee hold some responsibility for doing so?
  1. Randy Vogt
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 4:16 p.m.
    Gus, the ref should not have signaled for a goal kick in this case without looking at the AR. But the ref did have a lot to do in this sequence. Was the attacker fouled? If so, did the foul occur inside the penalty area or outside? If the ref did not think there's a foul, did the ball go out of play after that? The ref was too far from the goal line to see if the ball was still in play so he needed to look at the AR, which he did not do. It looks like the ref based his goal kick signal on the reaction of the players and did not look at the AR. But full credit to the AR, who was down at the goal line and had the right call--that the ball was still in play.
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: March 18, 2014 at 4:47 p.m.
    It is exactly for reasons such as this, a Ref can never allow himself to go into auto-pilot......the most innocuous scenario can turn into a firestorm! I personally never signal GK/Corner, until the ball has clearly gone over the goal line in my quadrant, and/or double-check alot of even those times with my AR, before I STOP and signal!! What's up with the ref and his half jog-turn while signaling incorrectly move?? And lastly, he should of stopped play as soon as the Keeper made contact with the ball for the illegal backpass (except that he already decided it was out of play evidently..?). The law states "teammate play the ball by foot to an area the keeper can legally play the ball....." (paraphrase) There is no requirement that the Keeper gain control, only that the contact is made with the ball. In this video, the teammate clearly plays the ball to the Keeper, regardless of the GK having to pare the ball at first, thus violating the law. Any "advantage" call potential would have ended when the attackers ceased to challenge for the ball, thus I would have returned to the original handling violation and prepared for the IFK.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now




AUTHORS

ARCHIVES
FOLLOW SOCCERAMERICA

Recent Soccer America Daily
What They're Saying: Banc of California chief executive Steven Sugarman    
"We have a lot of relationships with the ownership group. We're probably zero or one degree ...
CCL: Vancouver takes charge in MLS battle    
The Vancouver Whitecaps, losers of their last four MLS games, took command of Group C in ...
MLS Countdown: Sounders activate Torres    
Nearly a year after suffering a torn ACL in just his fourth MLS appearance, Panamanian defender ...
U.S. Abroad: Yedlin arrives back in northeast England    
DeAndre Yedlin arrived in Newcastle Tuesday night as Newcastle United looked to conclude a deal for ...
What They're Saying: Sigi Schmid    
"Once a team gets confidence, medium-sized things become little things and little things disappear. When you're ...
Chicago Magic's Sabbi signs with Spain's Las Palmas    
Emmanuel Sabbi, an 18-year-old Chicago Magic PSG forward who has been a regular with the U.S. ...
U.S. Abroad: U-20s flee college for pros    
The exodus of college or college-bound players to Europe continues as two U.S. under-20 national team ...
Video Pick: Christian Pulisic scores in friendly    
In Borussia Dortmund's final friendly before the 2016-17 Bundesliga season kickoff this weekend, 17-year-old American Christian ...
Video Pick: Top 10 long-distance Messi goals    
After Lionel Messi opened his 2016-17 La Liga account with two long-range goals in Barcelona's 6-2 ...
CCL: Three MLS clubs in action this week    
The slumping Vancouver Whitecaps have a chance to put themselves in a position to take command ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives