Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
What They're Saying: Tim Howard
June 14th, 2014 2:34AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily



"I've got no problem with the Brazilian player going down. I would encourage my own players, if they feel contact, to go down. It’s the referee’s job, obligation and responsibility to make sure that he gets it right."

-- U.S. goalkeeper Tim Howard on the penalty kick called on Croatia's Dejan Lovren after minimal contact with Brazilian forward Fred in Brazil's 3-1 win on Thursday. (

  1. Ginger Peeler
    commented on: June 14, 2014 at 11:03 a.m.
    It's called cheating. And it's wrong. A lot of people seem to believe in winning at all costs. I've noticed some folks talking about Diego Maradon's "hand of God" goal with great approval and respect. It's cheating! If you have to cheat to win, it's a tainted result. And just because others are doing it doesn't make it okay for us to. Let's not start down that slippery slope; play a clean game and play to the best of your ability. Make us proud. Go USA!
  1. David Mozeshtam
    commented on: June 14, 2014 at 1:12 p.m.
  1. Chris Sapien
    commented on: June 14, 2014 at 3:34 p.m.
    You nailed it Ginger! Who wants the discussion to be about a "tainted" result vs. a moment of glory? As a referee, if I don't see a reasonable effort to stay on your feet, even after questionable contact at a deep, likely threatening position on the field, don't expect me to bail you out with a call when you very likely could have finished the job yourself! With that being said, I can always use the discretion to return to call the foul after you have provided me such desire, and award the PK! (direct/indirect kick etc.)

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Daily
MLS Playoffs: Youngster Boateng takes charge for Galaxy    
Emmanuel Boateng made up for a penalty whistled on him that negated the LA Galaxy's early ...
Report: Barrett out of running for Dynamo head coach    
Wade Barrett, who served as the Houston Dynamo interim coach for the last five months, won't ...
What They're Saying: Michael Bradley    
"For tonight, every player, every person who is a part of this club, every fan, every ...
What They're Saying: Harvard dean Rakesh Khurana    
"As a human being, and a member of the Harvard College community, I am always profoundly ...
MLS Moves: Robinson stays with 'Caps, but changes coming    
Three days after a 4-1 win over Portland ended a disappointing MLS season for Vancouver, the ...
MLS Playoffs: Toronto FC stars come to play    
Ten years. That's the time it took Toronto FC to finally win its first playoff game. ...
MLS: SKC takes win streak into first playoff meeting    
The Seattle Sounders and Sporting Kansas City have been playoff mainstays -- eight straight appearances for ...
MLS Playoffs: Teams at familiar stage    
MLS's Knockout Round concludes Thursday with two games: D.C. United-Montreal and Seattle-Sporting KC. All four teams ...
Video Pick: Sublime scissor kick by Nacho    
Real Madrid's 26-year-old Nacho scored the goal of the week, a 17-yard scissor kick, on Wednesday ...
U.S. Abroad: Julian Green nets first Bayern goal    
Julian Green scored his first goal for Bayern Munich in his first start of the season, ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives