Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
WORLD CUP: By the numbers
June 30th, 2002 12:07PM
Subscribe to Soccer America Site




The 2002 World Cup averaged 2.52 goals per game, making it the second lowest World Cup in history. Only Italia 90 (2.21 goals per game) had a lower scoring average.


Brazil captain Cafu is the first player to play in three World Cup finals.


Germany has finished second four times -- more than any other team in World Cup history.


Brazil is the first team to win five World Cup titles.


Five Brazil players who played in the 1998 final played in the 2002 final: Cafu, Roberto Carlos, Rivaldo, Ronaldo and Denilson.


Brazil is the first team to win seven World Cup games outright in the same World Cup. It won six games in regulation in 1970. France won seven games in 1998 but needed a shootout to beat Italy in the quarterfinals. That result is registered as a tie.


Brazilian Ronaldo was the ninth player to score two or more goals in the final. The only other Brazilians to score two goals in a World Cup final were Pele and Vava in 1958.


The 2002 World Cup averaged 41,844 fans a game, ranking 10th out of 17 World Cups in average attendance.


With two goals in the final, Ronaldo finished with eight goals to lead all scorers at the 2002 World Cup and tie Pele for the Brazilian record with 12 World Cup career goals. Ronaldo is only two goals short of Gerd Mueller's record of 14 goals.


Germany trailed only 23 minutes in the 2002 World Cup -- the 23 minutes after Ronaldo's goal in the final.


It's been 40 years since a Brazilian won or shared the World Cup scoring title. Garrincha and Vava shared the title with Florian Albert of Hungary, Valentin Ivanov of the Soviet Union, Drazen Jerkovic and Leonel Sanchez of Chile.


Ronaldo's first goal ended Brazil's scoreless streak of 281 minutes in the World Cup final. Its previous goal was by Carlos Alberto in the 86th minute of the 1970 final.

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Site
USSF's 1988 AGM: The Development Plan, Havelange, Blatter and bananas    
In my 31 years as Soccer America's editor, I'd estimate I've written or edited 50,000 headlines, ...
FIFA: Blatter wins first round, 133-73    
Embattled Sepp Blatter had a 133-73 edge over his sole opponent, Prince Ali of Jordan, in ...
Caribbean combine returns next year    
More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
Saint Louis picked to repeat    
[ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
[TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
[ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
>> Soccer America Site Archives