Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
U.S. SOCCER: Stewart, Milbrett earn Athlete of the Year honors
January 30th, 2002 12AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Site



U.S. Soccer's top two annual awards went to midfielder Earnie Stewart (Chevrolet Male Athlete of the Year) and forward Tiffeny Milbrett (Chevrolet Female Athlete of the Year). Young Male Athlete of the Year went to DaMarcus Beasley and Young Female Athlete of the Year went to Aleisha Cramer. Stewart and Milbrett each receive a one Chevy Cavalier. Beasley and Cramer will each have $1,000 donated by Chevrolet in their names to the U.S. Soccer Foundation. Stewart scored five goals to lead the USA in scoring in 2001. All five goals came during World Cup qualifying. He also had an outstanding year for his Dutch Honor League team, NAC Breda. Milbrett led the USA women in scoring in 2001 with three goals and one assist in five games. Playing for the New York Power, she led the WUSA in scoring with 16 goals and three assists. Beasley (Chicago Fire) earned his first full national team cap in 2001. The 19-year-old also played for the USA at the U-20 World Cup. Cramer, 19, played nine games for the full women's national team in 2001. Past Winners: Athlete of the Year: Male-Female 1984 Rick Davis - not awarded 1985 Perry Van der Beck - Sharon Remer 1986 Paul Caligiuri - April Heinrichs 1987 Brent Goulet - Carin Jennings 1988 Peter Vermes - Joy Biefeld 1989 Mike Windischmann - April Heinrichs 1990 Tab Ramos - Michelle Akers-Stahl 1991 Hugo Perez - Michelle Akers-Stahl 1992 Marcelo Balboa - Carin Gabarra (Carin Jennings) 1993 Thomas Dooley - Kristine Lilly 1994 Marcelo Balboa - Mia Hamm 1995 Alexi Lalas - Mia Hamm 1996 Eric Wynalda - Mia Hamm 1997 Kasey Keller - Mia Hamm 1998 Cobi Jones - Mia Hamm 1999 Kasey Keller - Michelle Akers 2000 Chris Armas - Tiffeny Milbrett 2001 Earnie Stewart - Tiffeny Milbrett Young Athlete of the Year: Male-Female 1998 Josh Wolff - Cindy Parlow 1999 Ben Olsen - Lorrie Fair 2000 Landon Donovan - Aly Wagner 2001 DaMarcus Beasley - Aleisha Cramer

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Site
USSF's 1988 AGM: The Development Plan, Havelange, Blatter and bananas    
In my 31 years as Soccer America's editor, I'd estimate I've written or edited 50,000 headlines, ...
FIFA: Blatter wins first round, 133-73    
Embattled Sepp Blatter had a 133-73 edge over his sole opponent, Prince Ali of Jordan, in ...
Caribbean combine returns next year    
More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
Saint Louis picked to repeat    
[ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
[TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
[ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
>> Soccer America Site Archives