Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
Datebook: USL will kick off seventh season March 24
by Paul Kennedy, January 10th, 2017 2:30AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Daily

TAGS:  usl


The United Soccer League will feature 30 teams divided into two conferences with an expanded 32-game schedule.

The Tampa Bay Rowdies and Ottawa Fury, who have moved over from the NASL, will play in the Eastern Conference while expansion Reno 1868 FC will play in the Western Conference. Saint Louis FC will rejoin the Eastern Conference.

The regular season will start March 24-26 and end the weekend of October 13-15. Teams will play two games (one home, one away) against each conference rival. The remaining four games will be played against regional foes. Teams will not face each other more than three times during the 2017 regular season.

Richmond Kickers (25th season)
Charleston Battery (24th season)
Pittsburgh Riverhounds (17th season)
Harrisburg City Islanders (14th season)
Rochester Rhinos (10th season)
Charlotte Independence (3rd season)
Louisville City (3rd season)
*New York Red Bulls II (3rd season)
Saint Louis FC (3rd season)
*Toronto FC II (3rd season)
*Bethlehem Steel (2nd season)
FC Cincinnati (2nd season)
*Orlando City B (2nd season)
Ottawa Fury (1st season)
Tampa Bay Rowdies (1st season)

Orange County Blues (7th season)
*LA Galaxy II (4th season)
OKC Energy FC (4th season)
Phoenix Rising (4th season)
Sac Republic FC (4th season)
Colorado Springs Switchbacks (3rd season)
*Timbers 2 (3rd season)
*Real Monarchs SLC (3rd season)
*Sounders FC 2 (3rd season)
Tulsa Roughnecks (3rd season)
*Whitecaps FC 2 (3rd season)
**Rio Grande Valley FC (2nd season)
San Antonio FC (2nd season)
*Swope Park Rangers (2nd season)
**Reno 1868 FC (1st season)
*MLS owned and operated.
*Independently owned and MLS soccer-operated.

Sixteen teams -- eight in each conference -- will qualify for the postseason:
-- Conference quarterfinals (Oct. 20-22)
-- Conference semifinals (Oct. 27-29)
-- Conference finals (Nov. 3-5)
-- USL Cup (Nov. 10-12)

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Daily
What They're Saying: Alejandro Bedoya    
"I wouldn't do it, but if somebody else felt the need ... they should be able ...
What They're Saying: Landon Donovan    
"You have to find something meaningful. That you're passionate about and do every day. Having that ...
TV Report: Nine independent USL clubs have local deals    
As the USL grows, so has the interest of local broadcasters to carry the action. Nine ...
MLS Expansion: Garber headed to St. Louis on Monday    
With its strong soccer tradition, St. Louis is considered a hot candidate for an MLS expansion ...
USA-Honduras: Lessons from Arena's first time around    
Sixteen years after his first run through the Hexagonal, Bruce Arena returns as head coach of ...
What's new in 2017 NASL: 1-10     
The NASL, downsized from 12 teams in 2016 to eight teams, will kick off its seventh ...
MLS Week 4: Ten players missing on international duty    
MLS doesn't rest during FIFA's international fixture windows. Ten players are expected to miss action for ...
NASL: BeIN Sports, ESPN3 return as broadcast partners     
BeIN Sports and ESPN3 are returning as the NASL's 2017 national broadcast partners. On opening weekend, ...
Video Pick: Good sport admits he wasn't fouled    
Jonas Hofmann of Borussia Monchengladbach fessed up that his stumble wasn't from contact by Bayern Munich's ...
MLS Moves: Toronto FC signs veteran defender Hernandez    
Defender Jason Hernandez will play his 13th MLS season as a member of Toronto FC. Hernandez, ...
>> Soccer America Daily Archives