Join Now  | 
Home About Contact Us Privacy & Security Advertise
Soccer America Daily Soccer World Daily Special Edition Around The Net Soccer Business Insider College Soccer Reporter Youth Soccer Reporter Soccer on TV Soccer America Classifieds Game Report
Paul Gardner: SoccerTalk Soccer America Confidential Youth Soccer Insider World Cup Watch
RSS Feeds Archives Manage Subscriptions Subscribe
Order Current Issue Subscribe Manage My Subscription Renew My Subscription Gift Subscription
My Account Join Now
Tournament Calendar Camps & Academies Soccer Glossary Classifieds
International: 1999 Pan American Games schedule announced
May 28th, 1999 12AM
Subscribe to Soccer America Site



The schedule has been announced for the men's and women's 1999 Pan American Games soccer tournaments, to be held July 23-Aug. 7 in Winnipeg, Canada. Men's Groups and Schedule The U.S. team, which will likely be composed of members of the U-23 and U-20 national teams, is the top seed in Group B, along with regional rivals Jamaica, Honduras, Cuba and the competition's only South American entrant, Uruguay. Group A: Mexico, Canada, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago. July 24 -- Canada vs. Costa Rica, Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago. July 26 -- Canada vs. Trinidad & Tobago, Guatemala vs. Mexico. July 28 -- Canada vs. Guatemala, Costa Rica vs. Trinidad & Tobago. July 30 -- Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago, Mexico vs. Costa Rica. Aug. 1 -- Costa Rica vs. Guatemala, Canada vs. Mexico. Group B: USA, Jamaica, Uruguay, Honduras, Cuba. July 23 -- USA vs. Cuba, Jamaica vs. Uruguay. July 25 -- Cuba vs. Uruguay, Honduras vs. USA. July 27 -- Uruguay vs. Honduras, Jamaica vs. Cuba. July 29 -- Honduras vs. Cuba, USA vs. Jamaica. July 31 -- Jamaica vs. Honduras, USA vs. Uruguay. Aug. 3 -- Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up. Aug. 4 -- Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up. Aug. 6 -- Bronze Medal match. Aug. 7 -- Gold Medal match. Women's tournament debuts The schedule has also been announced for the 1999 Pan American Games soccer tournament, to be held July 23-Aug. 5 in Winnipeg, Canada. This year's games will mark the debut of women's soccer. Five countries: Mexico, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago, the United States, and host Canada, will compete in the tournament which is limited to players under the age of twenty. July 23 -- Canada vs. Trinidad & Tobago, USA vs. Costa Rica. July 25 -- USA vs. Mexico, Canada vs. Costa Rica. July 27 -- Trinidad & Tobago vs. Costa Rica, Mexico vs. Canada. July 29 -- Mexico vs. Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago vs. USA. July 31 -- Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, Canada vs. USA. Aug. 2 -- Semifinals. Aug. 4 -- Bronze Medal match. Aug. 5 -- Gold Medal match.

No comments yet.

Sign in to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join Now



Recent Soccer America Site
USSF's 1988 AGM: The Development Plan, Havelange, Blatter and bananas    
In my 31 years as Soccer America's editor, I'd estimate I've written or edited 50,000 headlines, ...
FIFA: Blatter wins first round, 133-73    
Embattled Sepp Blatter had a 133-73 edge over his sole opponent, Prince Ali of Jordan, in ...
Caribbean combine returns next year    
More than two dozen players from the Caribbean played in MLS this season, and teams looking ...
Saint Louis picked to repeat    
[ATLANTIC-10: Men] Defending champion Saint Louis has been picked to repeat in the Atlantic-10's preseason poll ...
UEFA Champions League viewing schedule    
[TELEVISION GUIDE] The UEFA Champions League moves into Matchday 4 with a special kickoff time of ...
Young Arsenal star suffers horrendous injury    
[ENGLAND] Arsenal teenager Aaron Ramsey, considered the greatest Welsh talent to come along since Ryan Giggs, ...
GAMES: Live and same-day delay on national TV    
MLS WEEKEND WRAPUP: Twellman strikes again; L.A. wins 'Clasico'    
CHAMPIONS: Goal difference gives PSV Dutch title    
>> Soccer America Site Archives