College Women: Northwestern State gets nod in Southland

Northwestern State, which last year became the first team in league history to win both the regular-season and tournament championships, has been picked by the Southland Conference women's soccer head coaches and sports information directors as the preseason favorite to win again. The Demons dominated the voting with 11 first-place nods, followed by two for Southwest Texas and one for Southeastern Louisiana. Coaches could not vote for their own team. The Demons return nine starters, including Southland Conference Player of the Year Britiany Cargill, who set the SLC record for most points (37) and most goals (16) in a season. Last yearÆs Demons set a total of seven conference records and more than 50 school records on their way to the most successful season in the five-year history of the program. Qualifying for the NCAA play-in for the first time, they lost to Montana, the champion of the Big Sky Conference. The NCAA has increased the size of the Division I tournament bracket from 48 to 64 teams, eliminating the preliminary round game. The 2001 Southland Conference tournament champion will receive the leagueÆs automatic bid and compete in the first round Nov. 14 at a campus site to be determined. 2001 Southland Conference Preseason Poll
School (first-place votes) Pts.
1. Northwestern State (11) 83
2. Southwest Texas (2) 71
3. Southeastern Louisiana (1) 62
4. McNeese Stateá 39
5. Stephen F. Austin 37
6. Louisiana-Monroe 36
7. Nicholls State 15
Northwestern State placed five players on the All-Southland Conference preseason team, including last seasonÆs Player of the Year, Britiany Cargill, a senior forward from Friendswood, Texas. Helping Northwestern to its first-ever regular-season title, Cargill set a new SLC record for most goals (16) and points (37) in a season while also leading the league in shots on goal (33) last year. 2001 All-Southland Preseason Teams First Team
Name Cl. Pos. University Hometown
Britiany Cargill Sr. F Northwestern State Friendswood, Texas
Cory Cochrane So. F Southeastern Louisiana Nanamio, B.C.
Candice Kocian Jr. F Southwest Texas Brenham, Texas
Allison Crain So. F Southwest Texas Corpus Christi, Texas
Jacqualyn Lawrence So. MF Northwestern State Grand Blanc, Mich.
Melissa Payne Sr. MF Northwestern State The Woodlands, Texas
Becca Weingartner Sr. MF Southeastern Louisiana Littleton, Colo.
Marva Bailey Jr. D Southwest Texas College Station, Texas
Hillarie Marshall So. D Northwestern State San Diego
Lindsay Mason Jr. D Southwest Texas Austin, Texas
Tiffany Swingler Sr. GK Northwestern State Austin, Texas
Second Team
Name Cl. Pos. University Hometown
Nicole Horn So. F Stephen F. Austin Spring, Texas
Kim Robinson So. F Nicholls State Comox, B.C.
Reta Derouin Sr. F Southwest Texas Maple Ridge, B.C.
Wanda Regan Jr. F Southeastern Louisiana Spring, Texas
Kara Muessig Jr. MF Southwest Texas Houston
Sarah Wiebe So. MF Southwest Texas Spring, Texas
Shannon Tenney Sr. MF Northwestern State Gilbert, Ariz.
Katie Priest Fr. D Northwestern State Raleigh, N.C.
Jamie Brown So. D Southeastern Louisiana Houston
Courtney Coutu So. D Southeastern Louisiana Maple Ridge, B.C.
Nicole Helmig So. GK Southeastern Louisiana Pensacola, Fla.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications