College Women: Wisconsin-Milwaukee is team to beat in new Horizon

Wisconsin-Milwaukee has been chosen to finish first in the Horizon League in a preseason poll of the league's coaches. The Panthers received two first-place votes and 31 total points. UWM coach Michael Moynihan, who received 2000 Co-Coach of the Year honors, led his team to an undefeated record in the league last year (5-0) to win the regular-season championship title. The Panthers advanced to the tournament championship game and finished the season at 11-8-1. Milwaukee returns seven starters to the squad, including 2000 all-league first team selection Erin Blaedow and 2000 Co-Newcomer of the Year Lisa Bengtsson. After winning the tournament championship last season for the third straight year, Wright State was picked second with three first-place votes and 30 points. Butler was pegged to finish third with 27 points, while Detroit and Loyola tied for fourth with 19 points each. Green Bay was picked to finish sixth, followed by league newcomer Youngstown State in last. 2001 Horizon Preseason Poll 1. UWM (31) 2. Wright State (30) 3. Butler (27) 4. Loyola (19) 4. Detroit (19) 6. Green Bay (15) 7. Youngstown State (6)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications