WUSA: CyberRays announce local TV package

Fans of the Bay Area CyberRays will be able to see all of their teamÆs matches on television this season. Thanks to the club's local TV package, most of the games will be shown live. The CyberRays today announced an agreement with Fox Sports Net Bay Area and KICU Channel 36 in which the two television outlets will televise 15 matches between them. That package of games û- in addition to the six CyberRays matches included in the WUSA national TV package -û means all 21 CyberRays regular-season games will be shown. "It is critically important to the success of the CyberRays and the WUSA that we make our games accessible to fans in person as well as through the media," said Marlene Bjornsrud, the teamÆs general manager. "This partnership with broadcasters having such strong Bay Area sports reputations as Fox Sports Net and KICU will help us achieve that success." Fox Sports Net Bay Area will carry eight of the CyberRays' games including the April 29 home opener against the Boston Breakers. "We're excited that Fox Sports Net is going to be a major part of the CyberRays' television coverage this year," said Jeff Krolik, senior vice president and general manager of Fox Sports Net Bay Area. "Our viewers have come to rely on Fox Sports Net for 'home team' coverage, and the CyberRays will be an important part of Northern California sports. Marlene Bjornsrud and her executive team have done a first-rate job in building the team's visibility in their inaugural season. We think that fans can look forward to a fine season of WUSA soccer." KICU will show seven matches, among them a mid-season game against Mia Hamm and the Washington Freedom. "KICU is proud to be the TV home of the Bay Area CyberRays," said Tom Raponi, KICU's station manager. "Soccer has been a growing sport in America for years, and the world-class competition of the WUSA and the CyberRays will provide quality sports entertainment for families and kids." As part of the local television package, the CyberRays have changed the kickoff of three Sunday home matches to 2 p.m. instead of 3 p.m. as announced in the original schedule. Those matches are the home opener against the Boston Breakers, May 13 against the Carolina Courage and June 17, also against the Courage. Turner Network Television and CNN/Sports Illustrated have the WUSAÆs national television package, which includes the remaining six CyberRays matches as well as all playoff games this season. TNT's broadcast of the league opener between the CyberRays and Washington, scheduled to kick off at RFK Stadium at 2 p.m. Eastern Time/11 a.m. Pacific Time, will be tape-delayed on the West Coast. Below is the revised CyberRays schedule with kickoff times and television outlets: 2001 Bay Area CyberRays Schedule
Day Date Opponent Time (PDT) Network
Saturday April 14 @ Washington 11 a.m. TNT (2 p.m. tape delay)
Sunday April 29 Boston 2 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Sunday May 6 @ Philadelphia 1 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Sunday May 13 Carolina 2 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Wednesday May 16 Boston 7 p.m. KICU 36
Sunday May 27 Atlanta 7 p.m. KICU 36
Saturday June 2 @ San Diego 4 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Sunday June 10 @ New York 3 p.m. CNN/SI
Sunday June 17 Carolina 2 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Wednesday June 20 Philadelphia 7 p.m. KICU 36
Sunday June 24 @ San Diego 3 p.m. CNN/SI
Sunday July 8 New York 3 p.m. CNN/SI
Thursday July 12 @ Washington 4 p.m. KICU 36
Sunday July 15 @ Boston 3 p.m. CNN/SI
Thursday July 19 @ Atlanta 4 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Sunday July 22 Washington 3 p.m. CNN/SI
Wednesday July 25 San Diego 7 p.m. KICU 36
Sunday July 29 @ Carolina Noon KICU 36
Thursday August 2 Philadelphia 7 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Sunday August 5 @ New York Power 1 p.m. Fox Sports Net Bay Area
Thursday August 9 @ Atlanta Beat 4 p.m. KICU 36
Home games in bold.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications