What We're Reading

Henry Fumes at Poor Decision

Arsenal captain Thierry Henry is still fuming that his 85th-minute strike against CSKA Moscow was disallowed by Spanish referee Manuel Mejuto Gonzalez for a handball replays suggest never happened. In fact, it was a perfectly good goal, taken brilliantly off the chest by the France striker and then calmly placed home, but Mejuto Gonzalez, who was standing at an awkward angle some yards away from the play, somehow saw a handball. Not only did he bring the play back, but he also cautioned the Arsenal captain for using his hand deliberately. Had that goal stood, it would have earned Henry and the Gunners a vital point in Moscow, where CSKA managed impressively to keep the English giants off their game for most of the 90 minutes in its 1-0 Champions League victory. As things stand, Moscow has now taken the lead in Group G with seven points to Arsenal's six. After the game, Henry pointed out that in rugby, the team captain or another appointed representative has permission to approach the match official for an explanation of certain decisions during the game. In soccer, referees aren't required to answerin fact, often it's in their best interest to say nothing. "When you come at them, try to speak to them then they do not give an answer and will not even speak to you. That is difficult to take," the striker said. "You do not want to have a go at them, but just to ask them what they saw at crucial times and yet you are not allowed to do that in football." He added: "We lost the game, but we did not lose the war and we are going to be better again, that is for sure."

Read the whole story at Sporting Life »

Next story loading loading..