U.S. Cup 2000: Ireland, Mexico, South Africa join field

The Nike U.S. Cup 2000 will take place June 3-11. U.S. Soccer has yet to announce the venues and exact tournament schedule, which it expects to release in the coming weeks. The field, however, has been set. Joining host USA in the four-team, six-game tournament are Ireland, Mexico and South Africa. "With today's hectic worldwide soccer schedule, putting together a major tournament with these caliber of teams, this far in advance, is extremely difficult," said U.S. Soccer's secretary general Hank Steinbrecher. "With the participation of Major League Soccer, we were able to isolate the dates in early June to get the Nike U.S. Cup back into the summer and give us the opportunity to make the U.S. Cup 2000 lineup of teams one of our best ever." U.S. Cup history Participants listed in order of finish (champion in bold) 1992 -- USA, Italy, Ireland, Portugal. 1993 -- Germany, Brazil, USA, England. 1995 -- USA, Colombia, Mexico, Nigeria. 1996 -- Mexico, Ireland, USA, Bolivia. 1997 -- Mexico, Denmark, Peru, USA. 1999 -- Mexico, USA, Guatemala, Bolivia.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications