Olympics: All but two men's teams set

All but two of the 16 teams that will compete in the 1996 Olympic men's soccer tournament have qualified.

Following victories by France, Spain and Italy in European qualifying March 26 and 27 and Saudi Arabia in the third-place game of the Asian U-23 tournament March 27, these are the teams that have qualified:

Host -- USA.

South America -- Brazil, Argentina.

Africa -- Ghana, Nigeria, Tunisia.

Europe -- France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Hungary.

Asia -- South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia.

The other two finalists will be the winner of the CONCACAF U-23 Championship in May and the winner of the playoff between the CONCACAF runner-up and Australia, the Oceania champion.

The top seeds will be the USA, Ghana, Brazil and a European team to be determined.

The draw for the women's and women's tournament will be held May 5 in Atlanta.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications