MLS: Postseason waivers announced

The 10 teams of MLS have announced their lists of protected players. Each club also waived non-protected players, and these players will be available in a waiver draft held via conference call Friday afternoon at 5:00 p.m. (ET). The teams will draft in the following order

  • Colorado
  • New England
  • Columbus
  • San Jose
  • MetroStars
  • Kansas City
  • Dallas
  • D.C. United
  • Los Angeles
  • Tampa Bay

The following players were put on waivers:

Columbus -- Shane Battelle (MF), Ricci Greenwood (MF), Pat Harrington (GK), Bo Oshoniyi (GK).

New England -- Tom Lips (D), Paulo Dos Santos (MF), Jim St. Andre (GK), Patrick Tardieu (F).

Tampa Bay -- Goran Hunjak (MF), Greg Lalas (D).

D.C. United -- Mike Huwiler (MF).

MetroStars -- Ian Hennessey (MF), Chris Unger (MF).

Colorado -- Ian Butterworth (D), Scott Cannon (D), Troy Edwards (D)< Josh McKay (MF).

Dallas -- Chad Ashton (MF), Jimmy Glenn (F), Ed Puskarich (D).

Kansas City -- Billy Baumhoff (MF), Eric Eichmann (F), Kevin Koetters (D), Garth Lagerwey (GK), Nyanforh Peters (F), Tommy Reasoner (D).

Los Angeles -- Manny Motajo (D), Curt Onalfo (MF).

San Jose -- Derrick Brownell (D).

MLS teams willl be allowed a maximum of 26 players on each club's 1997 spring training roster. Teams may add to their rosters through the waiver draft, the 1997 supplemental draft (to be held after a player combine in January or February), the 1997 college draft, and additional assigned players. Regular season rosters will consist of 20 players, of which five may be internationals.

Clash, Crew swap players

Two trades were made before the waiver deadline. Columbus traded forward Mac Cozier to San Jose for Jamaican national team member Altimont "Freddy" Butler, and Colorado sent midfielder Felipe Rodriguez to Los Angeles for "future draft considerations."

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications