MLS: 16 Players Waived; Waiver Draft to be held Nov. 17

Sixteen players were waived today, and will be in the pool for the 1997 MLS Waiver Draft, which will be held on Nov. 17. The following players were waived: Chicago Fire -- none Colorado Rapids -- MF Rafael Amaya Columbus Crew -- D Janusz Michallik D.C. United -- none Dallas Burn -- Kansas City Wizards -- D Steve Pittman, D Dion Sebwe Los Angeles Galaxy -- D Peter Lak MetroStars -- none Miami Fusion -- none New England Revolution -- D Erik Imler, MF Alejandro Farias, MF John Kerr, Jr., F Giuseppe Galderisi, F Darren Sawatzky San Jose Clash -- GK Dave Salzwedel, D Curt Onalfo, MF Istvan Urbanyi Tampa Bay Mutiny -- GK Mark Dougherty, D Bill Harte, MF Marco Ferruzzi Teams will draft from the waived player pool in the following order:
  • (1) Miami Fusion
  • (2) Chicago Fire
  • (3) San Jose Clash
  • (4) MetroStars
  • (5) New England Revolution
  • (6) Los Angeles Galaxy
  • (7) Tampa Bay Mutiny
  • (8) Kansas City Wizards
  • (9) Columbus Crew
  • (10) Dallas Burn
  • (11) Colorado Rapids
  • (12) D.C. United
If a team selects a player, the next team in order has the opportunity to select a player from the pool unless it has previously passed. The draft will continue until all teams have passed, with a maximum of one minute per pick. Waived players not selected in the draft become free agents.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications