MLS: Nine waived as teams meet 20-man roster deadline

Six Major League Soccer teams have cut a total of nine players in order to fulfill the 20-man roster limit. The following players were waived: Chicago Fire -- D Don Gramenz, MF Brad Wilson. Columbus Crew -- D Brandon Ward Los Angeles Galaxy -- MF Gerardo Laterza, MF/F Guillermo Jara. Kansas City Wizards -- MF Jamel Mitchell, MF Edmundo Rodriguez. San Jose Clash -- GK Kevin Rueda. Tampa Bay Mutiny -- D David Moxom. San Jose has added discovery player Vicente Figueroa (who played with the Seattle Sounders of the A-League last year) to its roster, and the MetroStars signed forward/midfielder Jim Rooney as a discovery player as well. Chicago also released goalkeeper Jon Busch and called up keeper Markus Roy from the USISL's Chicago Stingers. In addition to the standard 20-player active roster, MLS teams are allowed to carry Project-40 players who do not count against the 20-player limit. Also, players on the injured reserve list are not considered part of the active roster. Due to many MLS players' participation with their respective national teams at World Cup France '98, six of the league's 12 clubs will receive roster relief that will allow them to carry additional players on their roster until June 30. The six clubs that will receive World Cup roster relief are: Columbus, D.C. United, Kansas City, MetroStars, New England and Tampa Bay.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications