3. MEN'S COLLEGE CUP: Semifinals postponed


Due to the winter weather system that moved through the St. Louis area Thursday night, Friday's Men's College Cup semifinal games were postponed until Saturday.

The first game, featuring Virginia and UCLA, was scheduled to be played at noon (ET)/11 am (CT) Saturday and televised live on ESPN2. Wake Forest and UC Santa Barbara meet at 2:30 p.m. (ET)/1:30 p.m. (CT), or 45 minutes following the first game, and can be seen on ESPN2 on tape delay at 9 p.n. (ET). The championship game is still scheduled for Sunday, Dec. 3, at 2 p.m. (CT) 3 p.m. (ET) and will be shown live on ESPN2.

''The decision to postpone Friday's games was made in the interest of the health and safety of the student-athletes,'' said Noreen Morris, chairperson of the NCAA Men's Soccer Committee.

The weather system, which has gripped much of the central United States, dumped several inches of ice and snow in St. Louis late Thursday and into Friday morning. Saturday's forecast in St. Louis called for sunny skies and 40-degree temperatures with light wind.
Next story loading loading..