CLUB SOCCER: Michigan, San Diego State take titles

Michigan and San Diego State won the men's and women's Championship divisions, respectively, at the NIRSA National Soccer Sport Club Championships held in Tempe, Ariz., Nov. 16-18.

After opening with a 3-0 loss to North Carolina, the Wolverines swept their next five games -- all by shutouts -- to capture the men's title. In the final, all-tournament midfielder Brent Medema scored the only goal to lead Michigan to a 1-0 win over Illinois.

After starting the tournament with a 2-1 record in pool play, SDSU beat Texas (2-0), Michigan State (1-0) and Colorado (2-1) to capture the women's title. Freshman midfielder Mandy Lenham scored the winning goal on a header with less than four minutes left in regulation.

Arizona State (men) and UC Santa Barbara (women) won the Open divisions.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications