U.S. Men: Arena Announces Roster for January Training Camp

U.S. national team head coach Bruce Arena has announced the 26 players who have been invited to the first training camp of 1999, which will run from January 9-19 at a site to be determined in Florida. At the conclusion of the nine-day camp, an 18-player U.S. squad will travel to Santa Cruz, Bolivia to play the Bolivian national team on January 24. Heading the list of camp invitees are 14 players who have previous experience playing for Arena, including seven current D.C. United players and seven players from Arena's 1995-96 U.S. U-23 national team. D.C. United is the most represented MLS club within the National Team camp, as defenders Jeff Agoos, Carlos Llamosa and Eddie Pope are joined by midfielders Tony Sanneh and Richie Williams, forward Roy Lassiter and goalkeeper Tom Presthus. With the exception of Presthus, all were on the field when United shocked Brazilian club Vasco da Gama on Dec. 5 to win the Interamerican Cup title. Four members of Arena's 1996 Olympic Team -- Jovan Kirovski, Brian Maisonneuve, Matt McKeon and Claudio Reyna -- as well as former U-23 pool players Gregg Berhalter, Leo Cullen and Zach Thornton will reunite with their former coach for the January camp. With the German and Dutch leagues on break during January, the national team will have the services of defender Berhalter, midfielders John O'Brien and Reyna and forward Kirovski. Specific details on the January training camp are still being finalized. The United States now has three confirmed matches for the early part of next year and in addition to playing Bolivia on Jan. 24, will face Germany on Feb. 6 in Jacksonville, Fla., and Chile on Feb. 21 in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Here is the training camp roster: Goalkeepers -- Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles Galaxy), Tom Presthus (D.C. United), Zach Thornton (Chicago Fire). Defenders -- Jeff Agoos (D.C. United), Gregg Berhalter (Cambuur, Netherlands), C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire), Leo Cullen (Miami Fusion), Robin Fraser (Los Angeles Galaxy), Carlos Llamosa (D.C. United), Matt McKeon (Colorado Rapids), Eddie Pope (D.C. United). Midfielders -- Chris Armas (Chicago Fire), Chad Deering (Dallas Burn), Cobi Jones (Los Angeles Galaxy), Eddie Lewis (San Jose Clash), Brian Maisonneuve (Columbus Crew), Clint Mathis (Los Angeles Galaxy), John O'Brien (Utrecht, Netherlands), Claudio Reyna (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany), Tony Sanneh (D.C. United), Richie Williams (D.C. United). Forwards -- Jovan Kirovski (Fortuna Cologne, Germany), Roy Lassiter (D.C. United), Brian McBride (Columbus Crew), Joe-Max Moore (New England Revolution), Dante Washington (Dallas Burn).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications