Fulham's Clint Dempsey
will not be punished for throwing an elbow that broke the cheekbone of Chelsea's John Terry
. Referee Martin Atkinson
saw the incident and did not call a foul or include it in his game report to the English FA. Under FIFA guidelines, retroactive action is only supposed to take place if incident was not seen by
the referee or if there has been a huge error in judgment.
Dempsey led with his arm while battling for a header with the England captain during the 0-0 tie. VIDEO
Terry underwent surgery on Sunday and may be able to play on Wednesday in a UEFA Champions League match wearing a protective