What We're Reading

Hall of Fame Voters Snub U.S. Stars

  • Goal.com, Tuesday, March 11, 2008 4:15 PM
Goal.com editor Marc Connolly, a voter for the National Soccer Hall of Fame, says he's "embarrassed" at the outcome of yesterday's results that only saw Anson Dorrance, the UNC women's coach and former U.S. women's national team coach, and Hugo Perez, a former NASL and U.S. men's national team standout, inducted into U.S. Soccer's Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y. A slew of former MLS and national team stars, including Earnie Stewart, Preki and Jeff Agoos, and former U.S. women's star Joy Fawcett did not receive the required 75 percent of the vote that would have seen them inducted through the players' portion of the ballot. In fact, no one from the players' section did.

Take nothing away from Dorrance and Perez, who thoroughly deserved the honor in the Builder and Veteran categories, but Connolly says the fact that the four aforementioned players will not be included in the ceremony takes a front seat to the deserved pair's achievement. "Don't get me wrong," says Connolly. "I'm not upset at the Hall of Fame. All they can do is set the parameters ... No, I'm upset with my colleagues -- the ones who neglected all or several of the above candidates."

Stewart played in three World Cups (1994, 1998 and 2002) and had a successful professional career in both the Netherlands and MLS. Preki was also a World Cup veteran ('98), a two-time MLS MVP ('97 and '03), and an MLS Cup champ ('00), who scored over 100 goals as a midfielder. Agoos, meanwhile, played well over 100 times for the men's national team, was a part of two World Cups ('98 and '02) and won five MLS titles with D.C. United and the San Jose Earthquakes. Fawcett played 234 times for the U.S. women, and won the World Cup in 1999.

Read the whole story at Goal.com »

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications