USA kicks off against Young Boyz

[CONCACAF UNDER-20 CHAMPIONSHIP] The U.S. U-20 national team, coached by Thomas Rongen, meets Jamaica on Friday in Trinidad & Tobago to kick off its quest to qualify for the 2009 FIFA Under-20 World Cup. Rongen's squad 20-man squad includes nine professionals, six of which play in MLS and three European-based players.


Ten of the U.S. players are veterans of U-20 or U-17 World Cups. The team's eight college players include Notre Dame's Aaron Maund, whose eligibility to represent the USA despite having represented Trinidad & Tobago at the 2007 Under-17 World Cup in South Korea was confirmed by FIFA last week. FIFA's rules permit a player to change his or her allegiance after participating for one country in an official competition at the youth level.

Goalkeeper Brian Perk, defender Anthony Wallace and in midfielder Bryan Arguez were part of the U.S. team that advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Canada. That team was also coached by Rongen.

The USA-Jamaica game, which kicks off Friday at 6 pm ET, can be followed on's MatchTracker.

The top four teams at the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship will qualify for the 2009 FIFA Under-20 World Cup Sept. 24-Oct. 16 in Egypt.

To qualify for its seventh straight U-20 World Cup and 11th overall, the USA must finish in the top two of Group A, which also includes Honduras and El Salvador.

Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago are the four teams in Group B.

So far, the field for the 2009 U-20 World Cup is:
Asia: Australia, Korea Republic, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan
Africa: Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa
Concacaf: Four teams to be determined
South America: Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela
Oceania: Tahiti
Europe: Czech Republic, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Spain
Host: Egypt.

U.S. Under-20 Roster:
Sean Johnson (Univ. of Central Florida)
Josh Lambo (FC Dallas)
Brian Perk (UCLA)
Gale Agbossoumonde (unattached)
Kyle Davies (Southampton, England)
Jorge Flores (Chivas USA)
Aaron Maund (Univ. of Notre Dame)
Amobi Okugo (San Juan SC)
Anthony Wallace (FC Dallas)
Sheanon Williams (unattached)
Bryan Arguez (Hertha Berlin, Germany)
Danny Cruz (Houston Dynamo)
Dilly Duka (Rutgers Univ.)
Jared Jeffrey (Club Brugge, Belgium)
Brian Ownby (Univ. of Virginia)
Brek Shea (FC Dallas)
Sam Garza (Univ. of Denver)
Peri Marosevic (FC Dallas)
Billy Schuler (Univ. of North Carolina)
Tony Taylor (Jacksonville Univ.)

March 6 Jamaica
March 8 Honduras
March 10 El Salvador



Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications