NCAA Division II Men's Final Four

[PREVIEW] Fort Lewis is the only former champion in the NCAA Division II men's final four, which begins Friday in Tampa. LeMoyne and Lees-McRae have never advanced as far as the semifinals, while Lewis last appeared in a final four in 2000. For a look at the four teams ...

Friday's Semifinals
Fort Lewis (22-1-0) vs. LeMoyne (17-2-3)
Lewis (16-3-2) vs. Lees-McRae (18-2-1)

This year: Rookie head coach Oige Kennedy, who took over in July when Tim Hankinson resigned to take a coaching job in India, led the Skyhawks to a No. 1 ranking. FLC leads Division II with 99 goals. Euan Purcell has 19 goals; Tom Settle has contributed 16 assists. History: The Skyhawks won their first national champion in 2005 and finished second a year later.

This year: The Dolphins won back-to-back Northeast-10 titles and earned a No. 1 seed in the East Regional. Angelo Reina leads LeMoyne with 18 of its 42 goals. History: LeMoyne has never advanced as far as the final four.

This year: Lewis is riding an 12-game unbeaten streak. Earlier this season, it had a 16-game unbeaten streak snapped with a 3-0 loss to Drury. Senior Nestor Hernandez has totaled a career-high 14 goals. History: The last time Lewis appeared in a final four was in 2000.

This year: When the Bobcats beat Tampa, 1-0, in the quarterfinals, they deprived the host of the D2 finals of a spot in the final four. English freshman Jamie Bladen won the game with a 30-yard shot that hit the crossbar and bounced in. History: Lees-McRae is making the school's first ever final four appearance in any sport.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications