DRAW: Under-20 Women's World Championship

The USA faces an African finalist, Argentina and France in the opening round of the Under-20 Women’s World Championship in Russia.
The USA opens the tournament on Aug. 18 against Africa’s second-place finisher at Torpedo Stadium in Moscow.

It plays Argentina Aug. 21 at the Torpedo Stadium before finishing Group D play against France Aug. 24 at Shchelkovo’s Podmoskovie Stadium. The USA won the U-19 World Championship in 2002 in Canada and finished third at the 2004 tournament in Thailand.
For the first time, the tournament will be staged with 16 teams, up from 12 in the previous two FIFA world youth championships for women.

The top two finishers in each of the four groups will advance to the quarterfinals, where the tournament becomes a knockout competition. The U-20 Women’s World Championship will take place at four stadiums in the Moscow area (Dynamo, Lokomotiv, Shchelkovo and Torpedo) and at one in St. Petersburg (Petrovsky). It conclues with the final on Sept. 3,


Group A -- Russia, Brazil, New Zealand, Australia.

Group B -- China, Finland, Africa 1, Canada.

Group C -- Switzerland, Mexico, North Korea, Germany.

Group D -- Africa 2, USA, France, Argentina.

Next story loading loading..