South Africa exit marks new low for host

[MAKING A LIST] South Africa’s elimination from the 2010 World Cup marks the first time in the history of the 19 tournaments that the host team has failed to reach the second round. For how the hosts rank in World Cup history ….

The host has lifted the trophy six times and finished runner-up twice. Only four hosts, including the USA, have failed to reach the quarterfinals.

Year Host: Finish
1930 Uruguay:
1934 Italy: champion
1966 England: champion
1974 West Germany: champion
1978 Argentina: champion
1998 France: champion
1950 Brazil: runner-up
1958 Sweden: runner-up
1962 Chile: third place
1990 Italy: third place
2006 Germany: third place
2002 South Korea: fourth place
1938 France: quarterfinal
1954 Switzerland: quarterfinal
1970 Mexico: quarterfinal
1986 Mexico: quarterfinal
1982 Spain: round of 12
1994 USA: round of 16
2002 Japan: round of 16
2010 South Africa: first round

NOTE: South Korea and Japan co-hosted the 2002 World Cup.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications