What We're Reading

Germany keeper Neuer admits fooling referee

Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer knew he had to react quickly when Frank Lampard's shot crashed off the crossbar and bounced twice during their World Cup game on Sunday. He grabbed the ball that he saw had crossed the line and quickly put it back in play, fooling Uruguayan referee Jorge Larrionda into believing it was not a goal.

"I tried not to react to the referee and just concentrate on what was happening," said Neuer. "I realized it was over the line and I think the way I carried on so quickly fooled the referee into thinking it was not over."

Neuer saw a replay later on television. "And, yes, it was over. It should have been a goal for England. Probably about two meters."

Read the whole story at Daily Mail »

Next story loading loading..