MAKING A LIST: World Cup champions in U.S. leagues

USL-1 expansion team Miami FC's roster includes 1994 Brazil World Cup champions Romario and Zinho, who join the list of players who have played on the winning team in a World Cup final and for clubs in U.S. leagues.

1968 Vava (Brazil Æ58 & Æ62) San Diego (NASL)
1968, 1977-78 Gordon Banks (England Æ66) Cleveland, Ft. Lauderdale (NASL)
1975-77 Pele (Brazil Æ58 & Æ70) Cosmos (NASL)
1976, 1978 Bobby Moore (England Æ66) San Antonio, Seattle (NASL)
1976 Geoff Hurst (England Æ66) Seattle (NASL)
1977-80, 1983 Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany Æ74) Cosmos (NASL)
1977-82 Carlos Alberto (Brazil Æ70) Cosmos, California (NASL)
1978-80 Alan Ball (England Æ66) Philadelphia, Vancouver (NASL)
1979-81 Gerd Mueller (West Germany Æ74) Ft. Lauderdale (NASL)
1981-84 Bernd Holzenbein (West Germany Æ74) Ft. Lauderdale (NASL), Baltimore, Memphis (MISL)
1989 Ossie Ardiles (Argentina Æ78) Ft. Lauderdale (ASL)
1997 Branco (Brazil Æ94) MetroStars (MLS)
2000 Lothar Matthaeus (West Germany Æ90) MetroStars (MLS)
2003 Juergen Klinsmann (West Germany Æ90) Orange County (PDL)
2005-2006 Youri Djorkaeff (France Æ98) New York (MLS)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications