Red Bulls and Henry headed to Emirates Cup

[DATEBOOK] The New York Red Bulls will play in the Emirates Cup, hosted by English club Arsenal at its Emirates Stadium, July 30-31. French club Paris St. Germain and Boca Juniors will also participate.

It will be the first time an MLS club has participated in a major European summer tournament.

Red Bulls star Thierry Henry will return to the Emirates Stadium to face the Gunners for whom he is all-time leading scorer with 226 goals.

"We are honored with Arsenal's invitation to participate in this year's Emirates Cup," said Erik Soler, Red Bulls General Manager and Sporting Director. "Our club is looking forward to representing Major League Soccer in this high profile international tournament."

Arsenal's chief executive if former MLS deputy commissioner Ivan Gazidis.

“We’re delighted and proud to once again be hosting the Emirates Cup this summer," he said. "Over the previous four years, the Emirates Cup has proved to be an overwhelming success and a thoroughly enjoyable weekend of football."

2011 Emirates Cup Schedule:
Saturday July 30
New York Red Bulls v Paris Saint-Germain (9:00AM ET/2:00 PM London Time)
Arsenal v Boca Juniors (11:20 AM ET/ 4:20 PM London Time)

Sunday July 31
Boca Juniors v Paris Saint-Germain (9:00 AM ET/ 2:00 PM London Time)
Arsenal v New York Red Bulls (11:20AM ET/ 4:20 PM London Time)

Emirates Cup Participants:
2007 Participants: Arsenal, Paris St. Germain, Valencia, Inter Milan
2007 Winner: Arsenal

2008 Participants: Arsenal, Juventus, Real Madrid, Hamburg
2008 Winner: Hamburg

2009 Participants: Arsenal, Rangers, Atletico Madrid, Paris St. Germain
2009 Winner: Arsenal

2010 Participants: Arsenal, Celtic, Lyon, AC Milan
2010 Winner: Arsenal

Next story loading loading..