Goal or no goal? The Rapinoe Shot

[REF WATCH] The USA's Megan Rapinoe hit the net in stoppage time of the Americans’ 2-0 win over North Korea on Tuesday but German referee Bibiana Steinhaus disallowed the goal. Did the ref get it right?

Goalkeeper Hong Myong Hui just barely got a hand on the ball as Rapinoe kicked it -- so the referee was correct in disallowing the goal, deeming the keeper to be in control of the ball.

When a goalkeeper has possession of the ball, the keeper cannot be challenged.

But Steinhaus could also have been correct in allowing the goal if she believed Rapinoe kicked the ball before the keeper had it between her hands. Replays confirm that the play was that close.

(Referee Randy Vogt, who has officiated more than 8,000 games, is the author of "Preventive Officiating.”)
 

1 comment about "Goal or no goal? The Rapinoe Shot ".
  1. Eric Shinn, July 1, 2011 at 7:58 a.m.

    Based on the way the rule reads, from my understanding, the ref got it right. Thankfully, this is the US women we're talking about, rather than the men, so the goal really didn't matter one way or another. They didn't play great in the first half, but from the 46th on they looked like the team they're supposed to be, and the game was very much in hand when this decision was made.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications