[REF WATCH] Hungarian referee Gyoengyi Gaal has apologized for not awarding Australia a penalty kick in its Women's World Cup game with
Equatorial Guinea after defender Bruna picked up the ball in front of her own goal. For video of the incident and Randy Vogt's take on the
The bizarre incident took place in the 16th minute of Australia-Equatorial Guinea. Australia’s Leena Khamis took a shot that hit the post and rebounded to Bruna, who caught the ball, held it for three seconds while turning around, then dropped the ball. Her keeper then picked up the ball and punted it downfield.
We asked referee Randy Vogt the author of "Preventive Officiating," for his take on the incident:
"A comedy of errors -- first by Bruna for grabbing the ball. Yet referee Gyoengyi Gaal did not see this deliberate handling foul that should have been a penalty kick. Nor did the other officials notify her that she missed a very important call. What’s the point of having mics and ear pieces if they are not used?
"ESPN commentators Adrian Healey and Kate Markgraf commented that they never saw anything like it.
"Actually, this happens on occasion in young children’s games such as girls U-7 or boys U-10. Watch enough of these games and eventually you’ll spot a shot rebound off the keeper or post to a field player who grabs the ball, not thinking that he or she either is no longer playing as the keeper or is playing another sport.
"I have never seen anything like this in an international match. It’s doubtful that we’ll see much of the referee and perhaps the other match officials in the later rounds of the Women’s World Cup.
Bruna picks up the ball ...