[REF WATCH] Five-time women's player of the year Marta sparkled in Brazil's second Women's World Cup game -- a 3-0 win over Norway -- but her
first goal came with some controversy. For video of the incident and Randy Vogt's take ...
Did Marta gain possession of the ball by pushing the Norwegian defender in the back?
The Brazil-Norway game was officiated by a U.S. crew: Kari Seitz and assistant referees Marlene Duffy and Veronica Perez.
We asked referee Randy Vogt the author of "Preventive Officiating," for his take on the incident:
"The TV commentators were questioning whether referee Seitz got it right but they should mention the assistant referee in the case as Seitz needed the help of assistant ref Duffy on the play.
"A long ball was played upfield, Seitz started sprinting and she was behind Marta, which is not the best view.
"When a ref is in this position, he or she needs the help of the AR. Also sprinting but parallel to the ball, 20 yards away, was Duffy. She had the best view of anybody on the field. As Duffy did not flag it, then she did not think a foul had been committed."
Marta's goal ...