[REF WATCH] That Brazil got a second chance from the penalty spot forced the Americans to pull off a heroic comeback to reach the semifinals. Was the retake,
after Hope Solo saved the first attempt, warranted?
First, we look at the foul. After Marta tapped the ball past Rachel Buehler, the American defender and Marta went down. Australian ref Jacqui Melksham pointed to the penalty spot and showed Buehler the red card.
Randy Vogt says he watched several replays of the incident and he couldn’t see the foul: “But Melksham had a great view of it as she was just five yards away from the ball.
“And if it’s a foul, it’s also a red card to Buehler as it’s denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity.”
As for giving the Brazilians another crack at the penalty kick after Solo stopped Cristiane’s effort, Vogt says: “Although the ref was right to the letter of the law that Christie Rampone entered the penalty area just before Cristiane kicked the ball during the penalty kick, this is an issue that I addressed in "Preventive Officiating":
“Let’s use common sense in infractions during the taking of penalty kicks. Should you believe that a goalkeeper might have moved a silly millimeter off the goal line or players brushed the 18-yard line before the kick was taken, keep the whistle out of your mouth.”
Vogt adds: “Traditionally, the referee’s position was to the side of the penalty spot and many refs now take up a position in the corner of the penalty area, as Melksham did, which is a better position to spot players coming into the penalty area too soon.
”She needed to use some common sense instead of ordering the penalty kick to be retaken as Rampone took a step or so over 18 before the kick was taken and had no effect on the play.”
Marta made no mistake when she took over PK duties on the retake, but the USA forced the game into a penalty kick shooutout thanks to Abby Wambach’s last-minute goal.
During the shootout, Shannon Boxx’s attempt was saved by Brazilian keeper Andreia, but she was ruled to have stepped forward before the kick and Melksham granted Boxx a retake that she converted.