Goal denied by net malfunction

[VIDEO PICK] Spanish fourth division club Alondras was robbed of a goal because the net didn't do its job.

Fran Fandino scored on a header against Pontevedra and celebrated with his teammates until ref Garcia Parada signaled for a goal kick.

Pontevedra went on to win, 1-0.

4 comments about "Goal denied by net malfunction".
  1. Brent Crossland, October 14, 2011 at 8:20 a.m.

    This is a referee error (or perhaps two!), plain & simple. There is no requirement for a net in the LOTG. Who on the referee crew checked this net during the pregame? Why wasn't the CR or AR in position to see that the ball went "under the crossbar & between the goal posts"?

  2. James Madison, October 14, 2011 at 5:59 p.m.

    Crossland is spot on!

  3. Wayne Root, October 15, 2011 at 7:08 a.m.

    I'm with you two. Shouldn't make a darned bit of difference if it went through a hole in the net or not, it's in.

  4. Carl Grover, October 15, 2011 at 12:56 p.m.

    Blatant inexcusable error by the crew. The nets are the first thing that is checked before the game even at the high school level.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications