West Virginia repeats as champ

[BIG EAST] Host West Virginia beat Louisville, 2-0, to win the Big East  championship for the second consecutive year before a capacity crowd of more than 1,550 at Dick Dlesk Soccer Stadium.
“Special teams do special things, and it takes a special team to win back-to-back championships in this league,” said WVU coach Nikki Izzo-Brown. “You’ll never be disappointed by the hard work these women put on the field.”
Senior Blake Miller scored on a penalty kick off the left post in the 28th minute to extend her scoring streak to eighth straight games.
The Mountaineers extended their lead in the 49th minute when sophomore Frances Silva scored her eighth goal of the year on a beautiful cross from junior Bry McCarthy.
Freshman goalkeeper Sara Keane made five saves to preserve the shutout.

All-Tournament Team
Ingrid Wells, Georgetown
Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame
Christine Exeter, Louisville
Chelsea Hunter, Louisville
Jennifer Jones, Louisville
Katie McDonald, Louisville
Sara Keane, West Virginia
Bry McCarthy, West Virginia
Blake Miller, West Virginia
Kate Schwindel, West Virginia
Frances Silva, West Virginia
Most Outstanding Offensive Player
Blake Miller, West Virginia
Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Bry McCarthy, West Virginia

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications