Reyna and Meola head Class of 2012

[HALL OF FAME] Claudio Reyna and Tony Meola, eligible on the Player ballot for the first time, were elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2012. A third former national team player, Desmond Armstrong, was elected on the Veteran ballot and Tony DiCicco, who coached the USA to the 1996 Olympic gold medal and 1999 Women's World Cup title, was named on the Builder ballot.

CLAUDIO REYNA. Reyna, who currently serves as U.S. Soccer's Youth Technical Director, played for the national team for 13 years (1994-2006) and played in three World Cups. He earned 112 caps while scoring eight goals and recording 19 career assists. Reyna also had a 13-year career in Europe, playing for Premier League sides Manchester City and Sunderland and the Scottish Premier League's Glasgow Rangers.

"It's an incredible honor to be inducted into the Hall of Fame," said Reyna. "Soccer has been my life from the moment I could walk. You don't think or play for these type of recognitions but it is a tremendous honor and I want to thank my former teammates, former coaches and everybody else close to me, especially my family, who supported me - from those who drove me all over as a youth player to my wife and children who have been here my whole career. From a player's standpoint, it kind of caps things off for me, so it's definitely an honor and something that I'm proud of."

TONY MEOLA. Meola started on U.S. World Cup squads for the 1990 and 1994 World Cups and was a reserve in 2002. He earned 100 caps and 32 shutouts (second all-time behind Kasey Keller), while recording 37 victories. Meola was one of the top goalkeepers in Major League Soccer, highlighted by his 2000 campaign with the Kansas City Wizards that included an MLS Cup, MLS MVP, MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and MLS Cup MVP honors.

"It's certainly the greatest honor you can have in your chosen profession, to be mentioned in the same breath as the great people that were before you and one day the great ones that will come after you," Meola said. "I'm certainly humbled and I'm honored, and I'm thrilled to think that somebody actually thought I was worthy of it."

DESMOND ARMSTRONG. Armstrong garnered 81 caps in 73 starts in his eight years with the national team (1987-1994). He played in all three matches during the USA's trip to the 1990 World Cup.

TONY DICICCO. DiCicco won a women's national team record 103 victories in 119 matches during his six-year head coaching tenure.

2012 Player Ballot Results
Claudio Reyna 96.08%
Tony Meola 90.20
Marco Etcheverry 58.82
Joe-Max Moore 57.84
Shannon MacMillan 49.02
Carlos Valderrama 43.14
Cindy Parlow 36.27
Peter Vermes 35.29
Chris Armas 34.31
Jason Kreis 30.39
* Only includes top 10 in votes received

2012 Veteran Ballot Results
Desmond Armstrong 53.66%
Teofilo Cubillas 51.22
John Doyle 51.22
Glenn Myernick 48.78
Linda Hamilton 43.90
Shep Messing 39.02
Mike Sorber 39.02
George Best 31.71
Brian Quinn 26.83
Bill McPherson 14.63
Steve Trittschuh 14.63

2012 Builder Ballot Results
Tony DiCicco 61.22%
Francisco Marcos 48.98
Chuck Blazer 44.90
Bob Bradley 40.82
Don Garber 40.82
Sigi Schmid 38.78
Fritz Marth 20.41
Dr. Robert Contiguglia 16.33

1 comment about "Reyna and Meola head Class of 2012".
  1. Walt Pericciuoli, March 1, 2012 at 9:34 a.m.

    Congratulation to all the new inductees especially to to Claudio and Tony our "Jersey Boys". Honors well deserved.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications