What They're Saying

"I did it so that if [Chris Wondolowski] made it, he would have to do it again, and then he missed. I had the unfortunate luck that Luis [Robles] saved the initial attempt."

-- New York defender Roy Miller tries to explain why he so obviously encroached during San Jose's penalty kick. Of course, had the shot scored, the goal would have stood because the rules don't punish the scoring team for an opponent's violation. Instead, Chris Wondolowski got a second chance after Luis Robles' save and scored the stoppage-time gamewinner in San Jose's 2-1 triumph. (The PK was awarded because of Miller's handball.) (MLSSoccer.com)



1 comment about "What They're Saying".
  1. Paul Lorinczi, March 14, 2013 at 8:14 a.m.

    He may need to read the rules again. That's not how it works.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications